White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Honestly, for a quick recipe, this was OK. I found it rather unusual to make. When you combine flour and milk under heat, it doesn't really boil, it turns to more like a paste. I should also say that the instructions should mention that the milk/flour combination should be stirred frequently. The other downfall is that it has a shortening texture to it and leaves a greasy feeling in my mouth. The recipe is OK for a quick frosting, but I think I will try others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Good not too sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
The taste was ok, but the appearance wasn't very good. You could see the separation due to the shortening, even though I beat it for the full 12 minutes with a hand mixer and then put it into my stand mixer for another 5 minutes. Next time I'm going to stick with a confectioners sugar/butter frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a superb traditional recipe. Light, easy to work with and good flavor and texture. Minimum 12 minutes beating, I'd say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My 87 year old mother called this "flour frosting." I agree with the comments on preparing it. Important to whisk milk and flour before it goes in sauce pan. It also makes a lot. I halved it to cover a bundt cake, and it was perfect. I used 2 heaping tbs. of flour, 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar, splash of vanilla. Beat for about 10 minutes and it looks like whipped cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe because I needed a frosting that did not call for powdered sugar. I am glad I read most of the reviews first! I used Cinnabon flavored coffee creamer in place of half of the milk in the "custard" portion, and I think that is what saved it for me. Otherwise it would have tasted like slightly sweet butter. I used all butter, no shortening, because I didn't have any. I had no problems with grainy texture. And it was not runny, as some reviewers said. The only way it could have been runny is if the custard was not cooled completely, causing the butter to melt, or not letting the custard boil and thicken properly. And as a couple of reviewers said it was lumpy... maybe they don't know how to make a basic gravy? If you whisk the flour and milk really well before putting it in a pan and heating it, then stir constantly as it heats and thickens, it stays lump free. I didn't even use a whisk while it was heating, I used a nylon "spork" instead. (I didn't want to use a wire whisk in a pan with a non-stick interior) I whipped the butter (room temp) with the sugar and vanilla extract first, so there were no lumps of butter as another reviewer said she had. The texture was great, nice and fluffy, easy to spread. I put it on a dark chocolate layer cake. I think I will try it as a filling for a pumpkin roll next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My mom had a recipe exactly like this only she called it custard frosting. It's always been my family's favorite frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
After about 12 mins in my kitchen-aid, this frosting was awesome....unfortunately it was at this point I had little ones yelling "make it blue!", which I did. To my dismay after 4 drops of food coloring and another 5mins of beating, it broke. Oh well, had I left it the way it was supposed to be, it whipped up beautifully and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I wanted to make a frosting instead of buying one. I followed the directions exactly and it looked like it was separating. I beat it for the full time and it didn't make it look any better. The only highlight of this recipe was the taste, tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Update: this frosting was not well received by my dinner guests. Maybe a chocolate version might be better. In the future, when I'm in a pinch, I'll stick with 7 minute frosting that I've had better feedback on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States