White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is not your typical frosting recipe so if that is what you are looking for, you will probably hate it. This is subtle and not oversweet. Light and airy. It does not taste waxy like another reviewer said, they were just expecting super sweet and this is not. I have had this frosting on my cakes since I was young and it is the best frosting ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
PERFECT frosting for any cake. Makes a generous amount. Note: Certain steps have to be followed to the letter. Use a shaker to thoroughly combine the flour and milk, watch it carefully as it cooks, and cool it very thoroughly before going to the next step. Next, cream the butter and sugar until light-colored and very smooth. This takes a while. Finally, beat the cooked mixture in for a LONG time, scraping the bowl frequently. The frosting will be of perfect spreading consistency and absolutely smooth with no sugar granules. An easy recipe but an exact process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
We loved this frosting. Not to sweet but creamy and light. As other reviewer have mentioned...whip it up good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrayjos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Made exactly as stated. It was ok amd i liked the smooth, whipped texture...but i wanted it to be sweeter. I added anout a 3/4 cup of powered sugar and beat it in. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Felgner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is a recipe that my mom has made for a very long time. Takes awhile to beat but so worth the effort. You can't go wrong by choosing this recipe. The only difference is my mom puts in one tablespoon of vanilla instead of a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I make a mean chocolate cake. And I make a mean chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. Unfortunately my granddaughter wanted a chocolate cake with white frosting for her sixth birthday....so I searched for recipes and found this one and gave it a try. It was PERFECT! Easy, not-too-sweet; kind of liked whipped cream, but a little more substantial! I used vanilla extract only and it was great. This recipe has officially become my go-to white frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So easy and not too sweet....I was glad I read the reviews and beat it for the full 12+ min. I think you could even add different flavoring for different uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This icing was disgusting. As far as I could tell, I followed the directions exactly. But, when I tried it, I had to spit it out. It was a total waste of ingredients and I would not risk trying this recipe again. Attached is a picture of the icing on the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Honestly, for a quick recipe, this was OK. I found it rather unusual to make. When you combine flour and milk under heat, it doesn't really boil, it turns to more like a paste. I should also say that the instructions should mention that the milk/flour combination should be stirred frequently. The other downfall is that it has a shortening texture to it and leaves a greasy feeling in my mouth. The recipe is OK for a quick frosting, but I think I will try others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States