White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I never rate anything, but I had to on this one!! There is a little cake shop where I grew up, that made the best frosting ever, and this is it!! I have tried to duplicate this for years and never have untill now, and am so happy I found this one. I didn't have enough shortening so I used margarine instead and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond. Oh my!!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
very yummy; light and fluffy. I needed to make a quick frosting that didn't require powered sugar (I was low). My 4 year old helped me make this and as she stuck her finger in to taste she said, "Yum, it tastes like marshmallows!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I was out of luck and tried this. It was waxy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I tried this for the first time today and it was the perfect frosting, not too sweet and very light and fluffy! I used butter instead of shortening and it turned out perfectly!! Make sure you mix it for the full 10-12 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
it sucks cant even make a smooth surface it is all lupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Brilliant! Not too sweet and the texture is smooth. Definitely going to use this recipe from now on. Thank you for sharing this recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I was coloring this icing blue for a baby shower, and accidentially picked up the vanilla extract instead of the blue food coloring, and poured a couple of tsp of vanilla on it by accident!!! After pouring off as much as I could, I just whipped the rest in, with the blue food coloring. It maintained it's consistency, and everybody loved it... So the moral of this story is, don't panic. It will all turn out alright in the end. If it's not all right, it's not the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Frosting was runny and tasted like shortening. Reducing the shortening could help improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This fluffed up SO beautifully in the mixer, but I could not overcome the graininess if the sugar. yuck. Do not use this recipe if you don't have fine sugar. Mine was just too coarse and did not blend in smooth despite being in the kitchen aid mixer on high for an eternity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I added 3 Tbs of Pumpkin Pie filling and 1 Tbs of red food coloring and put this on top of Pumpkin Bread...... It was well recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States