White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I will use this from now on... I did use all butter and I added raspberry puree. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I needed a quick frosting for cupcakes to take to work. After realizing I was out of confectioners sugar, yea believe it, I needed a recipe that used plain white sugar instead. This one was perfect. Fluffy and not too sweet. I added just a touch of almond extract along with the vanilla just cuz I love the flavor. I will definitely save this too my recipe box and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdpurdue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Thank you, Sierra, for posting this recipe! This is the white frosting I remember from my childhood in the 70s. My mother used it for chocolate cake until she "discovered" 7-minute-frosting. But, I still like this one better. I thought it was lost to history - I'm so happy to find it again and share it with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I ended up using fluffy white frosting in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have searched for a recipe this fluffy and smooth for years! I loved it! I did make it with only butter (one cup total) as we are out of shortening. It was nice to be able to make it with raw sugar - the little guys seem to go bonkers when they have the bleached stuff. It turned out perfect, and will be my stand-by from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I really wish I hadn't bothered to try this recipe. I wasted ingredients on a recipe that was entirely the wrong consistency even after beating it the entire time. Now I have to go grocery shopping - again - before I can even finish my cake. Don't bother with this one, guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was stupendous! My 11 year old daughter made it perfectly. I told her to do the flour and milk as though she was making a gravy base and then to let it cool and add everything else to it. It was perfect! 20 minutes from start to finish. She mixed the flour and milk with the whisk to my Kitchen Aid mixer BEFORE she put it in a pan to warm it. Worked like a charm. No lumps at all. So good. Used all butter-no shortening. Added a little extra vanilla. This recipe is so flexible. It will be my frosting recipe from here on in. I can't wait to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fudge4U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I never rate anything, but I had to on this one!! There is a little cake shop where I grew up, that made the best frosting ever, and this is it!! I have tried to duplicate this for years and never have untill now, and am so happy I found this one. I didn't have enough shortening so I used margarine instead and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond. Oh my!!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
very yummy; light and fluffy. I needed to make a quick frosting that didn't require powered sugar (I was low). My 4 year old helped me make this and as she stuck her finger in to taste she said, "Yum, it tastes like marshmallows!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I was out of luck and tried this. It was waxy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States