White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I never have had problems with allrecipes and always confident everything will turn out delicious. This frosting literally tastes like solid Crisco and butter. The consistency is thick and oily and not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Fabulous. I changed the servings from 12 to 16 because I like plenty of frosting and don't want to worry about being short when I'm frosting the sides of cakes. I used my immersion blender's whisk attachment to blend the flour into the milk before heating it and with just a few stirs while bringing to a boil it came out so smooth. I creamed the shortening (crisco) butter and sugar before adding the cooled flour/milk paste spoon by spoon and even added an extra 1/2 cup sugar as I wanted it just a touch sweeter. Anyone who had problems with the graininess must've not beaten it long enough. I used my kitchenaid standing mixer and that does a great job with the whisk attachment. What I like so much about this frosting is it's not overly sweet so that I can use the sweeter decorating icing for decorating and guests don't have to scrape off frosting to enjoy the cake. This is very similar to my grandmother's frosting recipe. It would be a good filling for oatmeal cookie "sandwiches" as well. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used this recipe the other day for cupcakes, and it was yummy, nice and lite and not too sweet. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I will use this from now on... I did use all butter and I added raspberry puree. It was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I needed a quick frosting for cupcakes to take to work. After realizing I was out of confectioners sugar, yea believe it, I needed a recipe that used plain white sugar instead. This one was perfect. Fluffy and not too sweet. I added just a touch of almond extract along with the vanilla just cuz I love the flavor. I will definitely save this too my recipe box and use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdpurdue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Thank you, Sierra, for posting this recipe! This is the white frosting I remember from my childhood in the 70s. My mother used it for chocolate cake until she "discovered" 7-minute-frosting. But, I still like this one better. I thought it was lost to history - I'm so happy to find it again and share it with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I did not care for this. I ended up using fluffy white frosting in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have searched for a recipe this fluffy and smooth for years! I loved it! I did make it with only butter (one cup total) as we are out of shortening. It was nice to be able to make it with raw sugar - the little guys seem to go bonkers when they have the bleached stuff. It turned out perfect, and will be my stand-by from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I really wish I hadn't bothered to try this recipe. I wasted ingredients on a recipe that was entirely the wrong consistency even after beating it the entire time. Now I have to go grocery shopping - again - before I can even finish my cake. Don't bother with this one, guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was stupendous! My 11 year old daughter made it perfectly. I told her to do the flour and milk as though she was making a gravy base and then to let it cool and add everything else to it. It was perfect! 20 minutes from start to finish. She mixed the flour and milk with the whisk to my Kitchen Aid mixer BEFORE she put it in a pan to warm it. Worked like a charm. No lumps at all. So good. Used all butter-no shortening. Added a little extra vanilla. This recipe is so flexible. It will be my frosting recipe from here on in. I can't wait to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fudge4U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States