White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the best frosting ever! Everybody loved it! Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnmarie
Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This can be a very good icing if you use 3/4 cup sugar, one 8 oz. stick of softened butter, and no shortening. You'll still have enough frosting to ice a cake and it will taste great, more like whipping cream on top. Without the shortening, the flavor is better, because the shortening makes it tastes like it has artificial additives in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
My grandmother always made me this frosting when I was a kid. It's the BEST EVER! I lost her recipe and have been trying to remember it for years! This is it exactly!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I added 2 tbs cocoa and made chocolate version.turned out awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I found a recipe similar to this online via Pinterest. It had 5 tablespoons flour and all butter. I've tried this recipe before and could not get it turn out. I decided to try it again (I had a buttercream as a backup) and I'm glad I did. I followed the directions more closely this time. I did put my flour mixture in the freezer for 15-20 minutes, per the other recipe. I beat the sugar and butter for 10-15 minutes with a little corn syrup. I added the flour mixture and beat it longer, also adding a little almond extract. This frosting is not quick, it takes a long time with all the beating required to get the sugar crystals out. When it’s finished it tastes like the whipped cream frosting you get on a grocery store bakery cake. It is lighter and less sweet than a traditional buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Best Frosting recipe I've ever made! I think what the author forgot to add, is that when you cook the milk & flour over the stove, you want to keep stirring it so you don't get any lumps, and the process will take about 5-6 mins so you can't rush this part, at the end, it should be very thick, like runny mashed potatoes. And then when you cool it, cool it completely, it should no longer be even a little warm. And I used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of the full 1 cup it listed, but it came out perfect!erfect frosting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Sorry didn't care for this. Other reviewers said use all butter, so I did and it just tasted like slightly sweet creamy butter. Tried again with 1/2 short and 1/2 butter an then it had no flavor. It was very creamy though, liked that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I love this frosting. You need to know up front this is NOT a sweet frosting. It tastes like a creamy, whipped frosting - a little like cool-whip. If you are looking for something that isn't cloyingly sweet, this is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Best frosting ever! Do you like the yummy whipped icing on Costco cakes, but don't want the expense if buying whipping cream? You'll love this recipe. I make it just as directed and it is my most clamor end after frosting. My favorite is on chocolate cupcakes. This is not an overly sweet frosting. It is quite light and fluffy. Do not substitute the sugar. It is not grainy if you beat for the 10 min required. I can't understand a single bad review. This is delicious! Oh, I do cool my flour/milk in the fridge until my cupcakes or cake is completely cooled. That way, the butter doesn't melt. You want the butter to be just room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States