White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Best frosting ever! Do you like the yummy whipped icing on Costco cakes, but don't want the expense if buying whipping cream? You'll love this recipe. I make it just as directed and it is my most clamor end after frosting. My favorite is on chocolate cupcakes. This is not an overly sweet frosting. It is quite light and fluffy. Do not substitute the sugar. It is not grainy if you beat for the 10 min required. I can't understand a single bad review. This is delicious! Oh, I do cool my flour/milk in the fridge until my cupcakes or cake is completely cooled. That way, the butter doesn't melt. You want the butter to be just room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
WOW! My Aunt Bonnie has been making this for years! BEST EVER FROSTING!! I can't believe I found the recipe here! So excited!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! -- KEY NOTE -- it is VERY important to let the milk mixture cool completely before using. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wonderful frosting that I remember my mom making. Love the consistency and you can change flavor with just extracts. One of my new/old favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: South Gate, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I used 1 cup of butter as someone else suggested, came out really nice. I was worried that it would not come to firm peaks, so I threw my (metal) bowl in an ice bath to help out, worked perfectly. I suggest it if you have trouble forming peaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I picked this recipe because it had ingredients that I normally keep around the house and it has good reviews. It did look a little weird when mixing the milk and flour, but it all worked out. I think I need to beat mine for a little longer. It came out a little watery but tastes delicious! I frosted 24 cupcakes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Really great frosting! I just made a dairy free version using coconut milk and dairy free margarine and it tastes great! But next time I think I will use more margarine and less shortening. It whips up to a nice, light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Originally I wanted a marshmallow icing recipe. Boy, am I glad my double boiler was toasted the last time my husband used it! Not only am I getting a new one, but I got a recipe with the exact texture and level of semi-sweetness that I was looking for in the first place! I did not mix it for the full 12 minutes; all the sugar was blended in after 5, and with a hand mixer my arm was getting tired! The kids and I just love this recipe! A definite keeper... but I find it needs a little something... (hence the four stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This frosting has been something I have been seeking after for YEARS. In elementary school my best friend's mom would bring in cupcakes with this frosting and I was baffled by it. WHAT IS IT?? WHY IS IT SOOO GOOD? To me, it's almost like sturdy, shelf-stable whipped cream. I hate when cupcakes have a TON of frosting and are OVERLY sweet. I made Pumpkin Spice Latte cupcakes and made this recipe using brown sugar instead of white, and only using 3/4 c. This gave it just a slightly sweet, creamy texture and taste, a perfect mapley match to my cupcake! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I doubt I'll ever use this recipe again. I couldn't get the butter to mix in properly. A long time beating with a stand mixer whisk and there were still bits of butter in the icing. I added some more granulated sugar and then some icing sugar, which helped some. Even with the extra sugars it's still not overly sweet. Too much bother, took away from the "quick" in the description. Update: I'm having to upgrade the rating due to raves from our guests. I used this icing on a "Simple White Cake" and several people went back for seconds and I even got a request for the recipe. So, I might use it again but will have to change the mixing somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States