White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I added more vanilla for taste, but overall, this was a really nice frosting recipe. It had just the right amount of sweetness, and it was a good piping consistency to do swirls on top of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was the first time I had tried this type of frosting. You really have to beat it for a long time so the sugar isn't grainy. But it is very much worth the extra work. So light and fluffy and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I needed a white frosting for my husbands birthday cake and didn't want to go to store. I made this for a angel food cake I had made and the frosting was better than the cake!! Thank you for this easy but delicious recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackieo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Frosting is so easy but not this one. It took too long and it tasted like shortening. It was greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was a HUGE hit with my family. I made a chocolate cake and decided to use this icing. It's the best white icing I've ever had!!! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
OMG !!!! This frosting is the best I have ever had or made. It is sooo easy and delicious and creamy. The only thing I did differently is used almond extract cause I was out of vanilla. And now I will always use almond extract. I made it to frost cupcakes for a baby shower and every one ate at least 3 cupcakes each cause the frosting was so good. Now I have requests to make more cakes just because of this frosting. Loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Awesome frosting. Looks like a dud until the 10-12 minutes are up, but gets light and fluffy with a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is terrific! I made this, and added about 1/2 tsp of strawberry extract. It was super light, fluffy, and not overly sweet at all! I am going to use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had never even hear of a cooked frosting before! Thank you for this recipe! People should know that its not sweet and tastes nothing like buttercream. It has all the lightness of whipped cream, only it holds together way better. I used all butter this time, it was very good, but I might try it with the shortening next time. This is my new go-to recipe for white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this today and it is delicious! I used all butter as some other reviewers suggested. I typically don't have shortening in the house but always have butter in the freezer. This recipe is a keeper & I will be using it again on Monday, when I make my grandson's first birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States