White Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is my favorite frosting recipe. Whenever I frost a cake, I pull out this recipe. Be sure to mix the flour and milk before putting the pot on the stove. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My family loves this frosting. Its not as sweet as powdered sugar frosting and it never crusts. It also works great for filling chocolate cupcakes, its just like a hostess cupcake. The only tip I would like to give is after you cook the flour and milk put a piece of plastic wrap on the top of the mixture while it is cooling to keep a skin from forming. This will prevent any lumps from forming in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used this as a frosting on homemade cinnamon rolls and it was awesome! It was a little runny, but the flavor was perfect for the cinnamon rolls. I love that it's not too sweet that it's over the top. I'll be using this many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas Kountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great, versatile recipe. I wanted to make an eggnog flavored frosting for the holidays and this recipe was great as a base to modify for that. I'll be using your recipe for a long time to come. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This frosting is super multi-purpose and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Well my 2 yr old daughter and I tried this one. Not bad, but we learned a valuable lesson. When it calls for shortning..... you must use shortning. We tried to substitute and well, it came out a lil greasy or oily. Not a bad frosting. Definately gonna use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Did not care for the taste of this frosting at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe, love that it's not sooo sweet! Cooking directions should be a bit more clear though, the boiling's not important, it's the thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I love this recipe and have been using it for years! So light and fluffy also not too sweet; it really lets the flavor of the cake shine! I like it on dark chocoalte cake; it looks so pretty! What this recipe doesn't state is that the milk/flour mixture has to thicken (like paste)before it's done; maybe that's why some peoples didn't work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This frosting was very good!!! in the begining it looked pretty bad but then it terned very fluffy. it was great for any cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States