White Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Add much less flour. To fix I added 1/4 tsp of salt, oregano, and 2 cloves garlic, 1/8 tsp of thyme and cumin, 1/4 cup milk, 2tbs of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I ended up adding a lot of garlic to it, making it into a garlic cream sauce out of it. The amount of garlic varies for the dish you're using for. For just plain pasta, I usually end up using 2-3 cloves. But obviously it depends on the person. It made a very good base for a garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is perfect for low fat diets!!!! Try Land-O-Lakes fat free cream and also try a 1/4 cup of orange juice instead of the lemon. Add or remove flour ammount for consistancy. On a healther note: use skim milk instead of any type of cream! Tastes the same with less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I tried it with chicken breasts and served it on top of pasta it was pretty good it depends I guess how you spice it up and what pasta you may use. I used reg. spaghetti but you can use fettucine, or linguini,or like pastas that really hold up to a good sauce such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This definitely has potential but I couldn't put my finger on it. I wish I would have read the reviews before ruining my heavy cream [expensive stuff!]. I cut this recipe down to serve 2 and still it came out too thick. Definitely should have used less flour! I ended up having to add dill & garlic to spruce it up. I am not sure if I want to attempt this recipe again but I am sure it could be fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I halved the recipe (didn't know if it would keep) and it didn't turn out well at all. In the end, I used 1 cup of cream, salt and pepper, some garlic and corn starch to thicken. This way turned out better than the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
There is an easy fix to this recipe. Uncooked flour will taste like raw flour. To correctly make this sauce (called a roux) you must first cook your flour in a couple of tablespoons of butter or oil. Heat the butter in a saucepan on low heat, being careful not to burn. Stir in flour until a paste is formed. THEN add liquid ingredients gradually, stirring constantly over low heat until smooth and desired consitency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This started too flour-ee. We used half & half with regular white flour, doubling the amount of dairy with the prescribed amount of flour and it turned out fine. Then we added salt, lots of pepper and 6 cloves of garlic in a 4 serving recipe. Yum. 2 star recipe starting but but it's a 4 1/2 star recipe with these changes :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamieq
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I used this as a base for my cream sauce, adding some garlic, salt, pepper, and italian spice for flavour. It turned out quite well but I would use a little less flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I used this as a base for white sauce for peas. I suggest adding some sugar for a little flavor. Maybe garlic, parsley etc. It has no taste but can be used as a base and then add what you want to make it taste like something other then flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTISCHOOR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States