White Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenni Cushing Pennino
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Cake was dense like a pound cake, flavor was good. All that I shared with said they were yummy! Topped cupcakes with a Chocolate buttercream frosting and a strawberry garnish, I will try again as a double layer cake with strawberries in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Cushing Pennino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Tried this cake with a filling and frosting from other recipes (I had some white chocolate chips I needed to use up). It is very unusual. The batter is very thick but it is supposed to be, DO NOT add more milk or it won't turn out at all. The white chocolate is a challenge to deal with, make sure it doesn't cool too much or you will have white chocolate lumps in your batter. It is a dense cake, somewhere between a pound cake and a quick bread, but the flavor is good. Not sure I would use it again, (I don't make a lot of cakes anymore since my kids are grown) but it is a good choice if you need to avoid eggs or want something different than your average cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was NOT good! It was heavy and tasted just the same! Disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Wasn't what I was expecting. Funny texture and taste. However, my 3 year old just loved these! He's a huge fan of the cup cake so I'm not sure if he really loved it or was just happy to be eating a cup cake. I'm not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Harper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
The batter didn't turn out right, ended up having to add more milk. After done baking it tasted like a bad sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I am rating this 4 out of 5 right now, but if my son actually eats it - it will get 5! I have tried several eggless cake recipes, and they are all okay - not great - unless you top it with an inch of frosting. I ate one of these cupcakes without frosting - and it was delicious! Now, I just need to get my leery son, who thinks all cupcakes taste like cardboard to try it!!! So excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
this recipe did not turn out at all. it tasted like semi sweet play doh and took nearly an hour to cook it definately would be better with an egg or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homecookinmom
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I LOVE this cake! My son is allergic to eggs. I needed a cake that would taste good and hold up well for shaped birthday cakes. This one is perfect! I have used this recipe to make cakes shaped like a whale, dragon, and komodo dragon, among other things. It tastes great by itself or with frosting. It is easy to cut into layers. It IS a little more dense than what you might be expecting. It reminds me of a pound cake. Nothing wrong with that!! A good eggless cake recipe is hard to come by. I almost wept the first time I used this one. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I tried this recipe and it was terrible! I should have realized, any cake with no eggs has to come out dry and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States