White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I was skeptical but this is AMAZING ! I put it on a birthday cake for my teenage son, he said its the best I've ever made ! I read a review where the person said they would not be trying it but then rated it ?! Not fair ! That's what made me try it ! Thanks negative nelly ! You lead me to a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
In baking and cooking, when you are attempting to combine warmed melted solids with cool non-solids (or cool non-solids that will become solid when mixed with warmed non-solids), and you would like to have the result of a creamy non-clumpy substance, you need to take the time to introduce the two ingredients slowly. It also helps if you also get your cool substance to or close to room temperature. Therefore with this recipe, I measured out my sour cream and set it aside to become room temperature. Then I melted the white chocolate chips and stirred them with a fork to a cooler state. When I felt that they were at the correct temperature but not again solid chocolate, I drizzled the white chocolate into the sour cream while I was mixing on low speed. Once they were creamed together I turned up the speed to high to make the mixture thicken. As with any cream based product, the more you mix it the thicker it will become but you must be careful you do not over beat. This recipe is more of an icing than a frosting in my opinion. Therefore I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and a tablespoon of pure vanilla extract. Add additional powdered sugar ¼ cup at a time until your desired thickness. My addition to this recipe made the mixture more like a frosting for my taste and it retained the white chocolate flavor due to the additional vanilla. So no problems with this recipe. It turned out excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
It went really well with Aini's Strawberry Cupcakes. I used about 150 grams of white Fazer baking chocolate, and a bit less than 100 grams of Creme Fraiche. To speed cooling, I floated the glass bowl with the hot chocolate in a pot of ice water and continued stirring until almost set. The creme fraiche/choc mixture was a bit lumpy at first, but after stirring turned a beautiful consistency, perfect for cakes or cupcakes. super, super sweet taste, but I guess that depends on your brand of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was super easy and totally fabulous. Abolutely no need to add any powered sugar to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This frosting is the perfect compliment to a super-sweet cake. I used it with the "Black Magic Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I really, really like this icing!!! :) It does always clump a little...but it is SO worth it! It isn't the icing you should pick if you're going for beauty...but if you're going for taste...than this is the BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
put it on raisin scones and it went over VERY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberness
Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Gorgeous, very tasty. I used belgian white chocolate....quite sweet and waited for chocolate to cool in a cold water bath then electric whisked the sour cream in. It goes very stiff due to the cold cream then becomes lovely. If you add the cold cream to warm chocolate i imagine it will split, so let the choc cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Used good quality white chocolate, melted in the microwave. Put sour cream in a larger bowl and used electric beaters to whip for half a minute then slowly drizzled in the cooled chocolate. No lumps, and a light whipped texture. Beautiful flavour, not too sweet - perfect to top the white chocolate mud cake I made. Many thanks for the easiest "gourmet" frosting recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This icing gets a 5 for ease and taste. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and once melted added the sour cream- SO EASY!! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States