White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I liked the constinency of this frosting, but I would add some icing sugar next time to make it a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
It went really well with Aini's Strawberry Cupcakes. I used about 150 grams of white Fazer baking chocolate, and a bit less than 100 grams of Creme Fraiche. To speed cooling, I floated the glass bowl with the hot chocolate in a pot of ice water and continued stirring until almost set. The creme fraiche/choc mixture was a bit lumpy at first, but after stirring turned a beautiful consistency, perfect for cakes or cupcakes. super, super sweet taste, but I guess that depends on your brand of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This icing gets a 5 for ease and taste. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and once melted added the sour cream- SO EASY!! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I must have missed something. Sour cream and white chocolate and nothing else? I won't be making this one again. I thought I followed the recipe to the "T" but the instant I added the sour cream (to the well cooled white chocolate), it instantly clumped. No amount of beating in my electric mixer would have smoothed this out. I had to add powdered sugar to salvage the frosting. Still, it's not the way I expected frosting to taste. I added a pinch of salt to insure it wasn't overly sweet when I added the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This frosting is the perfect compliment to a super-sweet cake. I used it with the "Black Magic Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tristie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was super easy and totally fabulous. Abolutely no need to add any powered sugar to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Gorgeous, very tasty. I used belgian white chocolate....quite sweet and waited for chocolate to cool in a cold water bath then electric whisked the sour cream in. It goes very stiff due to the cold cream then becomes lovely. If you add the cold cream to warm chocolate i imagine it will split, so let the choc cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This recipe was great - really tasty and easy - I added icing sugar to make it thicker - I found it kind of runny and it kept sliding off the cake, but all in all really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Brama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This did not get thick enough, which made me sad because the taste was really good and would have went well with my chocolate cake with raspberry filling :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
very running, not really frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States