White Chocolate Snack Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Made this today for my granddaughters Christmas party. She is in Kinder. Used Dora(star shaped)cereal,chocolate cheerios, frosted cheerios,small alphabet pretzels, and red and green mini M&Ms with the white chocolate chips. Its going to be a hit!LOL!Granma already tried it and gave it 5 stars! Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I read the reviews before I made this. I noticed that there's a lot of disagreement regarding how much oil to use. Folks who have been cooking a long time know that there are variables in any recipe- things like humidity in your kitchen, how long your white chocolate chips have been sitting on your pantry shelf, etc- that can affect how much oil you may need to add. My white chocolate chips (a 24 oz bag) had been opened previously & sat for a year before I used them to make this recipe. I started out adding half the oil, then the other half, then switching to melting on the stove in a pan to avoid chocolate seizing, & finally, adding a lot more oil. I seriously lost track- maybe a total of 1/2 cup of oil over all before I could get the chocolate close to smooth & not clunky. Does this mean that this recipe failed me? No, this means my chocolate had lost a lot of its moisture in the past year sitting on my pantry shelf, & that I needed to add more oil to get it to work. Once I glopped it (not poured it, it was still rather thick) into the other ingredients it mixed well & looked a lot thinner. So much so that I worried, as I smoothed the mix onto wax paper, that is might not dry- AT ALL. But it DID! It dried despite my having to add all that oil to get the chocolate workable. & I just snuck a taste- it is scrumptious!!! I wanted to post this because we need to realize as cooks, that there are variables in your kitchen & ingredients & it may not be the fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Oh, yum! I like salty but not sweet and my husband likes sweet but not salty. We both LOVED this! I reduced the oil to 1 Tb. as well and it set up perfectly and I used Reese's Pieces since I'm not an m&m's fan. The bonus was it looked nice and "fallish" for my daughter's late October birthday party. I'll be making a Christmas version to hand out to neighbors for sure! One note: this makes a TON. I mean like as in three large cookie-sheets full, fills 2 gallon sized freezer bags when done kind of a ton. It was pretty difficult to stir it all together, so I'd suggest you plan on halving the recipe into at least two bowls and use the biggest scooper/scraper you own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is great! Used 9 cups of the cereals, total, 2C pretzels, 14oz party peanuts, candy corn & festive m&m's, and one bag of Hershey's white chips. Add the candy just before laying out onto wax paper. Just enough coverage of the white chocolate. Thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a big hit!!! I used honey nut chex and honey nut cheerios and vanilla almond bark and turned out great!!! Next time I'm going to use fruit loops and captain crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUMPSHAKER2006

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This has always been a hit every time I make it. Now people ask if I can bring this to the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My college students love this recipe! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
One T. Oil is all that's needed, used rice chex for the toasted oat cereal...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Everyone loved it. The kids refer to it as "white trash".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This was easy and pretty good. Looked pretty for Christmas using red & green M&M's. Would use white chocolate candy coating instead of the white chips and oil as this mixture made the coating to "wet" and the mix didn't dry. I had to add powdered sugar to dry it out some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States