White Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I don't see what all the rave reviews are about. I made this cake for my mother in law's birthday as she is a white chocolate lover. But, no one finished their slice--not even the kids--who would generally eat any kind of cake. We all found it to be a little dry and not very tasty even though I followed the recipe exactly. Needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I wanted to make a pound cake that was different. This seemed to be the perfect one, white chocolate in a cake? Mmmmmm! The recipe was easy to follow, and the cake tasted good. There are a few things that I didn't like about the cake. The crust of the cake, was too hard. I think the sugar that is added in the pan before baking, may have had something to do with it. Also, the chocolate in the middle didn't melt well for me, it left a ring around the cake and some came out on the sides of the cake, which made a mess of the pan. I didn't drizzle the chocolate on the top as suggested, I just skipped it. I think the next time I make it, I will mix all of the chocolate in with the mix, and not sprinkle some in the middle as suggested. Otherwise, it was fantastic! I would definately make it again, with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosedale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
WE all loved this cake! It was very delish! Instead of drizzling the top with white choc., I served the cake with a simple raspberry sauce (1/2c seedless raspberry preserves, 1 tsp butter, 1/8 tsp almond extract, microwave till warm and liquidy) and over the course of 4 days we polished it off! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Made this for my mother's 95th birthday celebration, and it was a hit. I love the crust it makes, the flavor is just delicious with that hint of almond, and the white chocolate gives it an elegant touch. Instead of chopping, I melted the white chocolate to mix in with the other ingredients, and I only used white chocolate on top. It was simple but perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a Wonderful cake! My guests loved it! I also used raspberry sauce, although it is great on it's own! It was easy and fun to make. You've gotta try it! I've e-mailed the recipe to one of my guests she liked it so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCOTIAB
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was WONDERFUL! One suggestion is that you chop the white chocolate that is to be sprinkled in the cake into really thin pieces...almost like shavings. It makes it easier for the chocolate to melt. This cake was very moist and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTIAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I've made this recipe several times (often for teacher luncheons at my sons' schools) and it's terrific. You could use white chocolate chips in place of the chopped white chocolate to sprinkle in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I (ben, junes grandson) made this recipe for after a sunday dinner and the whole family enjoyed it. the recipe was easy to follow and didnt have to change any of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is a very easy recipe to make. I have made it several times as is without changing with one exception the last time I made it. I did not have a enough white chocolate on hand so I searched through the pantry and all I had was white chocolate truffle candy, so I melted that in the microwave and drizzled over the top with the milk chocolate and WOW it was an even bigger hit. This cake does not last very long anywhere I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Hey!!! This recipe is awesome!!! I took it to shcool for a contest and won!!! Then i went to other contest and won with this cake!!! It is awesome!!! The only thing thats wierd is that the cake does not turn out to be chocolate, like it shows in the pic. It turns out yellow, but my whole class loved it so much they did not care if it wasn't chocolate because there was so much white chocolate and dark chocolate drizzled on top that it was still good!!! SO GOOD!!!I also changed the recipe a little...(See you dont have to put in almond extract, even tho the recipe calls for it. I made one cake with it and one without and they tasted the same. It dosn't really make a difference.) Anyway this recipe is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States