White Chocolate Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were good! Like Cookin'mama, I used King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour with good results. I also added 1 tsp vanilla. And like What a Dish!, I added pure orange extract (1/2 tsp). I also used the zest from two satsuma oranges. I divided the dough in half and used white chocolate chips (real ones) in half and mini-semisweet chocolate chips in the other, & used only half the amount of each (1/2c each). Both were delish. Thanks for the great cookie recipe, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Usually I am happy with just a tiny sample of the cookies that I bake, but not this one; I love the delicate orange flavor of this cookie. I used King Arthur organic white whole wheat flour (nobody had a clue!), milk chocolate chips, and flattened each cookie before I baked them. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
WOW, are these good!! I absolutely love them! So good! I had a little trouble getting the orange zest, but all I had were satsumas, and I take it they're not the best to zest, lol. So I stopped after I had 1 teaspoon (that alone took over 10 minutes!) and just put 3/4 teaspoon of organic orange extract in the dough along with the zest. My bag of white chocolate chips was 12 oz. which was a little over 2 cups, but I threw them all in anyways- I loooove white chocolate. After the first batch was in the oven I remembered that some reviewers had said these cookies don't spread out at all, so I lightly flattened the rest with a fork and liked how those turned out better. These have a perfect texture- I baked for 9 minutes. I like that they don't have tons of sugar like some other recipes (although the white chocolate kind of makes up for that!). I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and omitted the salt because I used salted butter. White chocolate and orange are so scrumptious together. These are sooo good and I think I might make them again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Loved teh flavor of this cookie! I do think semi-sweet chocolate might be a tastier combo for my tastes so next time I will try that. I added a tsp of pure orange extract in addition to the orange zest & I subbed pecans for walnuts, to use what I had on hand. I had to cook mine for 15 minutes & they never spread out or flattened much. Be warned...if you try a bite of the raw dough, you wil be unable to stay out of it. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
great recipe! Such a nice change of pace for a chip cookie. Didn't have white chips so subbed choc. chips and loved the chocolate/orange combo. Only addition was 1 tsp. vanilla. This is a crisp on the edges/chewy on the inside cookie; much like Tollhouse texture. Thanks for the picture, as it represented the thickness and shape achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Oh my gosh I love these! The orange compliments the white chocolate perfectly! I didn't make any changes to this recipe, but it sure calls for some cranberries in this. So I will add some next time. 5 stars isn't enough for this recipe, it should get 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
mmm! these turned out fantastic! I reduced the white chocolate chips to one cup and it was plenty! I also used 1 1/2 Tbls. zest plus 1 Tbls. orange juice for lots of orangey goodness. I got 34 good-sized, soft, delicious, orangey cookies from this recipe. they're almost cakey in texture ... really good. also, i was almost put off the recipe by people saying they tasted like creamsicles cuz i HATE creamsicles, but i love orange cookies and wanted to try it anyway. and i just want to report (for anyone else who hates creamsicles) that these taste NOTHING like creamsicles to me, so don't fear! they kind of remind me of the hostess orange cupcakes ... super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
My girls made these. A bit of an event as my oldest doesn't do cooking. I just hovered in the background giving advice mainly on how to get the zest off an orange. They used about one and a half tbsp of zest as my youngest got a bit over enthusiastic and only a cup of white chocolate chips even they thought more would have been too much. They also left out the nuts as neither of them really like them. These were the best I'm not a cookie lover I normally just have one to see what they're like but I can't get enough of these. My girls say they'll be making them again next week. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Pretty tasty...mine didnt flatten at all and I wound up with cookie balls(I used a cookie scoop)they looked pretty enough but I was expecting a flat cookie. The only thing different was I probably only used 3/4c white chips because I didnt realize I only had a partial bag. I will make these again and use more chips(probably not the whole 2 cups the recipe calls for) and definitley more zest or orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
These are wonderful cookies! What I did however was omit the nuts and instead added some dried sweetened cranberries. This addition made them so festive and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States