White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
These cookies were fabulous. I did 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening like the other reviewers suggested. I also did not have any macadamia nuts so I used walnuts. They were a big hit...This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Good, not great. First, I find them much too sweet for my own personal taste. I also should have listened to the reviewer that suggested leaving out the almond extract. It tastes good, but it also turns the cookies into an almond & white chocolate cookie & the macadamias get a little lost. That said, I will try this recipe again without the almond and about half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by plates4u
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe was really good, it is an actual winner. It is easy to make and I can say I followed most of the suggestions especially replacing the almond extract for a full teaspoon of vanilla. I even reduced the amount of sugar by 1/4 of a cup and honestly, the sweetness was just perfect. I also used half butter and half shortening and definitely recommend to bake them for 9 minutes. They ended up a tiny bit chewy and a tiny bit crunchy. Definitely will make it again and again hehe my husband's coworkers LOVED them! EDIT: I recently made this cookies again in hotter weather. They were fabulous as usual;however, consider to watch more carefully the baking time and the temperature. You may need less time and lower a bit the heat. Hotter weather may cause spreading. My suggestion is to refrigerate the dough as you wait for each batch to bake. Furthermore, to avoid spreading in hotter weather mix the butter and shortening a bit colder than usual. If you leave both to set to room temperature by the time you finish mixing the dough the oils might start separating as too much of the cold will be lost by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Meh..followed recipe exactly, but cookies are a little bland. Maybe this type of cookie is supposed to have a mild flavor, but I think next time I'll stick to a regular chocolate type cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pchotrani
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I subbed 1 stick salted butter and 1/2 cup Crisco Butter flavored shortening and 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I hate cakey cookies so I was nervous when I saw them puffed up in the oven but as they were cooling they flattened. Lacked a little bit of sweetness. I might have to keep trying different recipes until I can get a perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchotrani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
After reading most of the reviews and getting thoroughly confused, I made it just as written because it sounded right. Bingo! It was exactly right. I am old school and use a wooden spoon and a glass bowl so maybe that's the difference. I did add two minutes to the cooking time because I use parchment paper, and they were gone in no time. My family loved them. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Absolutely loved it!!! I did however follow other viewers suggestions and did 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored shortening. I also did all vanilla extract instead of the almond flavor...just personal preference. Result...perfection in flavor, chewiness, and crispness!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Absolutely the BEST recipe I have found for these cookies. Using another reviewers recommendation, I did not use my mixer and added the dry ingredients by folding them in. What a wonderful secret to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These cookies are amazing! I made them exactly like the recipe except I put a 1/2 cup bag of macadamia nuts and 1 4.4 oz white chocolate bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I've made this cookie 3 times now and it always turns out great. Last time I added a little extra van and almond and it was too much on the almond so definitely stick with 1/2 tsp. Other than that I think this recipe is good to go! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 533) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States