White Chocolate Key Lime Endeavor with Macadamia Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
How could I not be tempted by a recipe with such an enticing name? I set upon to make this with great anticipation. Unfortunately, because of some problems I encountered, I can't rate this recipe highly. First, I think it's fair to say most will interpret a 9" pie pan to mean Pyrex. And even if not, since it would be at least fair to say they MIGHT use a Pyrex pie dish, the recipe should warn that freezing (or even chilling) the dish, then putting it into a hot oven, is not recommended, as it would invite a potentially serious accident of a shattered dish. This cautionary advisory is important! I chose to use an 8" square metal pan. Next, my years of baking experience should have alerted me that baking the crust 25 minutes is too long. So long that I threw out an expensive, over-browned crust and started over. Fifteen minutes was more like it. The butter/chocolate filling blended nicely, but just as I feared, once baked with the filling much of the butter melted and pooled at the top. I had to sop it up with paper towels. This was the ultimate deal breaker for me. To sum up the final result, the crust was tough and salty (I have not seen unsalted macadamia nuts - almonds would be a cheaper and no-salt option), the chocolate /butter filling too rich - like eating a stick of butter. The overall flavor was good, but largely due to the Key Lime pie filling. One could accomplish as good or better result, easier and cheaper too, just making a Key Lime Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made this recipe and thought the amount of steps for each part were within reason. I did cut back to 4 T of butter for the chocolate layer. I used white chocolate chips which was a mistake. I should have went with my intuition to just melt them but I didn't. The texture of the white chocolate layer was odd because of the chips but it tasted fine once it was all baked. The key lime layer was delicious and tart. My only is the amount of butter that seeped up from the white chocolate layer during baking. It was a little off-putting but I stuck with and the bars turned out fine. People enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was fabulous! The chocolate layer was genius. I left out the butter in the chocolate layer like someone suggested and it was fine. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Fantastic! We loved it. Little bit of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
After reading the reviews about the butter/chocolate separation I wasn't sure if I should waste my time. I thought the recipe was great! To use up the extra egg whites, I added a meringue topping with chopped macadamia nuts, instead of the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was delicious! Time consuming, but well worth it. The only problem I had was that some of the butter floated to the top, but I also didn't let the white chocolate mixture set all the way before baking, and I believe that was the source of the extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panini goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solsberry, Indiana, USA
Photo by LJ in the kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This pie has excellent flavor and is ALWAYS a huge hit with family and friends everytime I make it. The only thing I change is completely omiting the butter in the white chocolate. It is 100% unnecessary. A good quality white chocolate is the only thing you need. I use 1 1/2 (= 6 oz) Ghirardelli's white choc. baking bar, or find any couverture chocolate. DO NOT use chips! They won't melt into the satiny liquid puddle of yumminess you want, and you will have a big gloppy mess. Also, be very careful when melting chocolate in your double boiler. One tiny droplet of water in your chocolate and it will seize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Insanely delicious! My whole family LOVED this key lime pie for Father's Day and even my dad (super critical) raved about it! I had no problems melting the chocolate w/butter in a double boiler, but it took some vigorous stirring to get it to combine. I would cut the chocolate/butter part by half though, as it created a very thick layer of chocolate that was hard to cut through. I would also add another half recipe for the pie crust, but we like a thick crust on our pies. But this recipe is perfectly good as is, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This recipe is incredible. I have made it multiple times now and it is a family favorite. To solve the "too much butter" debate once and for all. It is NOT a typo but you do need to use real white chocolate (I use Ghiardellhi brand) and make sure to melt it very slowly over a double boiler. If done correctly all of the butter is absorbed smoothly into the chocolate. I made a variation of this recipe that turned out wonderful today. I cut down the lime juice by maybe 1/8 cup and added about 1/2 cup or a little more pureed fresh strawberries. The result is a tangy strawberry lime endeavor that is just out of this world in taste!!! I have also added 2 pureed peaches to the lime juice and an additional egg. That version was wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
There is something really wrong with the reciepe. 8 tablespoons is far too much. All that butter melted and floated to the top. The pie ended up tasting like eating a stick of butter. Big waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States