White Chocolate Gorp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was great. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions. I used one 17 oz bag of Reeces Pieces instead of the m&m's and I used 30 oz of premium white chocolate chips melted in the microwave for the white chocolate. For those who said this was too sweet, it's important NOT to use almond bark or "white chips" which both are sugary and are not actually white chocolate at all. I also rolled out some parchement paper on the counter top to spread the mixture on. It would not have fit on a cookie sheet. After the mixture dried, about 30 minutes, I broke it up a bit and stored in container. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I got this recipe from the Indianapolis Junior League Cookbook 15 years ago and have made it every Christmas and Easter since. At the holidays I make a tin for everyone in my husband's office, and they start asking him for it at Thanksgiving! It is a nice gift for postman, school bus drivers, trash man etc. I sent this to both of my nephews in Iraq and it was the most requested item from both of them. I also send it with my son for his away golf matches on the bus. My original recipe called for 1-1.5 lbs of almond bark, not 2! I also use Crispix instead of Chex and use 1/2 cashews and 1/2 pecan halves. Either way it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
Talk about addictive! I took this to work which was my first mistake--Now I am asked to make this all the time as everyone gobbles it up. I use Crispex instead of Rice Chex,use 2 bags of Wilton TM white chocolate wafers, throw everything in a big roasting pan, melt the chocolate in the microwave, stir it all up really well, and turn it out on waxed paper to cool. Easy. Very easy! I believe whoever took Ruth's recipe and put it on this site copied it incorrectly. Step 2 is just a repeat of Step 1 and is a bit confusing to the reader. Try this you will really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I made this twice - the first time using the recommended amount of white chocolate and I thought it was too sweet. The second time I halved the amount (I used white chocolate bark) and it was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
For Easter gifts, I mixed Fruity Pebble, Pastel marshmallows and pretzels. Poured melted white choc and chunky peanut butter over....beautiful! They looked like little Easter baskets with pastel eggs inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie De
Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I've made this for years but only with one pound of white chocolate instead of two, also with peanuts instead of cashews but they do sound worth a try. Also, use regular size candy only about half as much and get those colored according to the current holiday to make more feastive for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
This was so easy and delicious. I made it for a party and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSUDAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This stuff is addictive! I made this for a group and got loads of compliments. I used almond bark in place of the white chocolate (that my local store was out of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Love this recipe--I break off pieces of a chewy (non chocolate) penut bar such as (payday) and mix it in. It is even more addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this stuff! I've made it several times and just use Crispix instead of the 2 cereals. I have tried this with real white chocolate and also the white chocolate almond bark. I highly recommend using the real white chocolate. I did not care for the almond bark version at all. Updated: I made this again and my proportions turned out perfectly. I used 3 bags of white chocolate chips (Walmart brand), one full box of Crispix (12 oz), one full bag of M&Ms (14 oz) and 3 cups of pretzels. I microwaved the chocolate for 1 minute, 10 seconds and it was perfectly melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States