White Chocolate Gorp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Very simple, very good. I used 10 cups assorted cereal, 3 cups assorted nuts, and a large bag of candies (some M&Ms, some Kissables). The only major departures here were that I had a math fail and only bought 18 oz. of white chocolate (thinking, somehow, that I had 2 oz. too much!) so that's all I used, and it was great. More would probably not have been better, for me personally. After tasting the mixture (ok, licking my fingers) I decided that Craisins would be a good add-in and promptly sprinkled a cup of Craisins over the whole thing. This made 2 jelly roll pans worth of goodies which I stuffed into 1 gallon + 2 quart bags. (In case anyone else considered, as I did, that the yield of 4 pounds was not terribly helpful in terms of how much "stuff" this makes for gifts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yum, used peanut butter m&m's instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
very yummy! makes A LOT-be prepared to share with your neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I have made this recipe many times because it is so popular with the kids in my church. It doesn't matter what combination of cereals and snacks I mix together - it is always yummy and devoured. I do typically make it at Christmas time with Christmas minty M&M's and cashews, pretzels, Chex cereal and Cheerios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scimeca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe is awesome and flexible. This year I made the mistake of trying to use nestle's premier white chocolate that I accidentally bought out of code date. It just melted into a big unusable blob of white chocolate. I had to go out and buy blocks of white chocolate. Watch out for expiration dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe several times, and have found that using 1.5 lbs of the almond bark is a better ratio. If you use the whole 2 lbs the goodies get lost in a mess of super sweet coating. I usually make a big batch around the holidays and include it in my cookie tins. The recipe of flexible, so I add whatever I have on hand. I always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I, too, made the mistake of using Nestle Premeire White Morsels and it never melted, just globbed up and was a mess. So I used melted milk chocolate chips and it tasted great! I used Honey Grahams and Peanut Butter Cap'n Crunch for the cereal and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is ok. My kids really like it. I'm more of a true chocolate fan, but the kids enjoy white chocolate once in a while. It does make a good gift giving idea and turns out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This did not work out for us. Haven't been back since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Love this stuff! It's addictive!! I made last year for Christmas. I used holiday mint m&ms and mixed it up in a roasting pan. Last night made my first batch for this season. I put together by memory and realized after it was mixed, I only used half the amount of white chocolate called for in the recipe. I actually liked it better that way. Perfect blend of sweet and salty. I also used dark chocolate and mint chocolate m&ms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Snack Mix

This sweet and salty snack is loaded with yummy stuff.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States