White Chocolate Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Very good basic recipe. I cut the sugar in half as suggested by some other users and it was perfect. I found I had to increase the filling by half, as the amount called for was not enough to fill my pie plate sufficiently (I did not use a ready made crust, but made my own in a regular round pie plate). It was so soft, I worried it would not set up right, but after a night in the fridge, it served perfectly. I topped it with fresh halved strawberries which made it pretty and gave it a little extra something. Oh, and P.S., there is a misprint in the recipe- most people will figure out that you need an 8 oz package of cream cheese (in my case, I needed 12 oz) NOT a 3 oz. package, as the recipe says- but just in case anyone was wondering, thought I'd mention it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Yum-this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
the best pie in the world! I have made this several times now for my husband and in-laws, and they always rave about it and request it for special events. It takes hardly any time to make, other than letting it chill overnight, which is necessary (I found out after we impatiently tried it five hours after having made it). It is a perfect pie. I would recommend the Oreo cookie pre-baked pie crust for this one. Beautiful contrast in colors and flavors, and for the white chocolate drizzle on the top, I heat the last of the white chocolate squares with a lot of heavy cream to make it nice and runny, then I drizzle it over the top. A wonderful recipe that is as appealing to the eye as it is to the palate. Thanks so much for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I love this pie. I make it for parties all the time and it always gets eaten. I don't find it too sweet, as the cream cheese counters the sugar, but if you aren't into very sweet things you might want to cut down the sugar a bit- it'll still taste great. Another idea if you find the pie too sweet is to dilute the white chocolate mixture with a bit more cream than is called for. The one thing you have to be careful of is the melted chocolate mixture being too warm and melting the whipped cream. If it does this don't worry, just pour it into the pie shell and leave to set. You will get a different texture this way but it will taste the same. However if this occurs you may end up overfilling your pie shell if you use all the mixture. Oh well, more mixture to eat (mwahahaha). The first time I tried this pie it made me go "wow". The flavours really work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Very disappointed. This pie was too too sweet. Will try it again using only 1/3 cup confectioners sugar instead of 2/3 cups. I think this recipe would work if there was less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I made this for a friend. He asked if I bought it because it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stitchinthyme
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly as written, with one exception: I used an 8-ounce package of cream cheese, per some of the other reviews. I used a store-bought Oreo crust, and I had some extra whipped cream, so I spread it over the top of the pies (I made two), and they came out wonderfully. One of them was all gone in about 20 minutes and the other barely lasted till lunchtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I wouldn't go as far as the whole "heaven and earth" thing, but this is a really good pie. It's excellent with berries and with a shot of coconut-flavored rum added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Everyone loved this recipe when i made it for thanksgiving. I even made another one with dark chocolate, and that was also a sucess. My parents couldn't stop raving about it and have requested it the next time I caome to visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
OH MY GOSH THIS IS SO GOOD IT WAS AN INSTANT HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States