White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This recipe makes a moist,delicious cake!(I followed the directions exactly and submitted the picture.) There are a few tips I can offer: 1)I recommend a heavy duty mixer, not a light or hand held mixer, to make this frosting. 2)When cooking the white chocolate,flour and milk "until very thick", I cooked it until it started pulling together in a "ball" away from the sides of the saucepan and following the wooden spoon in the pan. 3)The butter for the frosting needs to be at room temperature as does the chocolate mixture. 4)Beat the frosting and beat it more!--it will reach whipped cream consistency and hold up on the cake at room temperature. 5)I recommend making this cake a day ahead of when you plan to serve it and do not refrigerate before serving. The taste and moistness of the cake will be enhanced and the frosting will not be grainy from the white sugar the second day. Definitely not a "make at the last minute" recipe, but well worth the extra time and effort it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
What an elegant cake! One tip, don't be tempted to use white chocolate chips in place of the squares. They do not melt smoothly as they are made to retain the chip shape while baking in cookies and other baked recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Hi! I've made 2 of these now. One for a Friends birthday and one for my birthday. I was a little scared by the "greasy" cake review and the "runny icing" review too. It turns out both are fairly simple fixes. Here are my tips. 1. The butter and the chocolate mixes have got to be at room temperature. This is the #1 way to mess this recipe up. 2. Both the cake and the icing get their lightness from the air you whip into the butter-sugar mix. This cake doesn't really "rise", all of the air gets whipped into the butter-sugar. When you add the flour and butter milk to the mix, keep your mixer on stir, and try not to let it get to dry or too wet or to dry while mixing. If your butter or your chocolate is warm, or you get it dry and the air bubbles break out of the mix, it turns out really thick like Jiffy-mix cornbread. See tip #1. 3. The icing whips up and has a final consistency that is thicker than whipped cream. If your butter is too cold or you try to soften it in the microwave, it comes out runny. If you put the chocolate in too hot, it comes out runny. Runny icing, unlike flat cake, can be saved. Leave it in the mixing bowl and stick it in the fridge. You should be able to whip most of the air back into it after it cools. 3. The tip about leaving it on the counter overnight is spot on. A lot of the sugar crystals dissolve into the butter and it gets creamier. Definitely better on day 2. 4. You can't ice the cake while it's warm from the oven. The i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I had very high expectations for this cake due to some of the other reviews, however, I was quite unhappy with the overall recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the cake form turned out great, however, the cake was just plain greasy! Also, I was expecting more of a white chocolate taste and it just didn't happen. Texture wasn't what I expected either. I will search for another white chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great! The only thing I changes is I made it in 3 square pans. The cake is even better the 2nd and 3rd day! The frosting is grainy due to the white sugar, next time I will try confectioners sugar instead. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Not much flavor and SUPER GREASY. There's a difference between 'dense' or 'heavy' and just plain dripping with grease. Grainy texture. Like chewing play-doh when it isn't iced. Wish I had checked the fat content on it before choosing to make it. I wouldn't even call it 'moist', just oily. I associate moist things with being flavorful and this isn't. Iced it with whipped cream and used a raspberry filling, coated it with white chocolate curls and made it edible - but barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
question...maybe a silly one, but I just started baking...when it says to melt the chocolate in the water...are you supposed to mix the two together? or just use the water to melt the chocolate double broiler style?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Do not attempt this cake without a heavy duty mixer.It's a lot of work, but my family did love it. The icing is runny and the layer of icing disappeared when i put the top layer on. I wound up chilling the icing to get it firm. Next time i will chill the icing prior to assembly. Be warned that this recipe is VERY time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This was a very good cake. I'm not a fan of white chocolate but really liked the flavor. The frosting was to die for. I could have eaten it with a spoon. Served it at a dinner party with the raspberry sauce recipie I found here and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZSTEPHANIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
Absolutly delicious. I made it for my sisters wedding cake. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States