White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was the best cake I ever made from scratch. I got it perfect the first time. I used a hand mixer with no problem, and it wasn't as time-consuming as I expected. There was only one problem: my husband and daughter forgot to take the cake out of the fridge - it was only supposed to be there for 1/2 hour or so. It was cold when served, and did not taste good. But the following day, after being at room temp, I could not stop eating it. It was so moist, and the frosting was perfect. It seems like just a ton of butter, and if you eat it cold, it tastes like you are eating pure butter. But at room temp, after a day or two, it is just wonderful. It's the best cake I've ever tasted. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne G.
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I only made the frosting from this recipe - and it was perfect. I just put the ingredients into the stand-mixer and let it go - and go - and go - until it was a real whipped-cream type frosting. I was scared away from the cake by the other reviewers, but I think I'll give it a try next time. Thanks for the recipe - I think I'll even try it with dark chocolate as a frosting, too. It turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was looking for a white chocolate frosting for the Red Velvet Cake IV on this site. I found this recipe and made it. I read several reviews, and I followed their suggestion to cook the white chocolate, milk, and flour longer; when I took it off the stove, it was very thick. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but it turned out too thin, and I've ended up adding more sugar and some flour. Other than that, however, the flavor is wonderful, and I'm sure it will compliment my friend's birthday cake perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. I make cakes all the time and this is at the top of my list now. If you would like a larger cake - it doesn't rise much then I would either double the recipe or 1 1/2 it. I tired to make it less heavy by using cake flour and beating the egg whites and folding them in at the end. It worked beautifully. I also cut it into 4 layers and put rasberry puree in the center. It was incredible and everyone loved it. I left it out on the counter over night and by the next evening all the sugar granules in the icing had melted and was perfect, but it still held it's shape. It doesn't spead super easy, but it's ok and you can do anything with it. This is one recipe to save and use over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This cake was an absolute nightmare to make. The cake itself ended up turning out ok, but I had to put it in a 9x13 since i didn't have round pans. it just took a VERY long time to get done, and I had to trim the edges because they were so crusty. I completely cooled the whitechocolate mixture for the frosting, and worked fine except it was too thick when I was making it. i did use powdered sugar so it wouldn't get grainy. I felt like there was way too much butter for the amount of sugar. Since it was so thick I added a little water, and a little more sugar. I covered it and went to work, when I got back it was too thick to spread. so I added a little more water and mixed it up- looked good, then it started to seperate. I added alittle more sugar, looked good. then it started to seperate. I finally fixed it by adding a ton of sugar and mixing it really good. it seemed to stay together. i cut the cake in half, put a layer of the frosting and a layer of raspberry jam in the middle and then frosted the whole thing. It was for a baby shower the next day. I was soo nervous that it wasn't going to taste good but everyone liked it- someone even asked for the recipe. But i wouldn't give it to her because it was such a pain to make. even if everything worked smoothly there are still takes a really long time. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
We all loved the frosting the best. It was very easy to make and was very yummy. Frosting even tastes great on chocolate cupcakes. The cake was very moist and also tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a great receipt, but my god it's so sweet! I'll definately make it again but I'll put in a bit less sugar. I baked the whole cake in one time, took 1hr instead of 35 minutes, but it's less work. The cake rises while baking, but gets compact when cool - stays very moistue which I like. As with the frosting, it feels very crunchy when just made, but tried it again after about 4 hrs and the sugar melted nicely and texture was smooth. I'm thinking of trying this frosting with a brown chocolate cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polarmist

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I was expecting a lot more from this cake then what it delivered. It is great that someone took the time to put it online, however, it just was disappointing. The cakes did not want to come out of the pans. Next time I would grease and flour them and put parchment paper down on the bottom with butter on top of the paper as well. Also, the frosting did not have much white chocolate taste to it and the frosting was not as thick as I like my frosting to be. However, who ever put this recipe online thank you for your effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made this cake for dessert for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! Everyone had seconds and even thirds. I followed the recipe almost exactly except that I substituted the buttermilk for coconut milk. I also used coconut milk instead of milk for the icing. The coconut flavor is subtle but I think it creates a very pleasant fresh, creamy and slightly fragrant dessert. I will definitely make this cake again and highly recommend it. I hope you and your friends and family enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I did not care for this!!!! The cake did not cook properly. Ended up with a gooey greasy mess in each pan that overflowed onto the bottom of the oven. No doubt something I did wrong... Chocolate mixture not cooled first? Frustrating waste of time and money and no birthday cake for DW. Perhaps a few more hints in the recipe would help. The frosting came out very well though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States