White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was slightly nervous making this recipe...But I took a chance. The thing that concerned me the most was the moistness of the cake. The only alteration I made was instead of vanilla, I used amaretto. It added great flavor! When I leveled the top, the trimmings did seem very dry, but at that point, I didn't have a fall back. When the cake was cut, however, it was VERY moist. Pleasant surprise! The only issue I had was that the white chocolate flavor wasn't as prominent as I would have liked it to be. All in all, I think it was a great cake, but could use a little more tweaking! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarcastic_Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I followed this recipe to the T! It ended up heavy, hard & greasy. It was an expensive cake to have flopped! However, the frosting turned out good. I added heavy whipping cream instead of milk. To save the day, I had to run out & buy a pound cake at the grocery store. I frosted that cake & filled it with the frosting & cut up strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The cake is heavy but is a real crowd pleaser. The icing is the real winner at our house. I use it with a dark chocolate cake to create Chocolate Lasagna like they once sold at Olive Garden. My kids request it every year for their birthday and now their friends want me to make it for them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This cake was awesome but I think I would use a different icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WesMama
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
i didn't realize i didn't have buttermilk until well into the recipe, so i used regular. this cake is fantastic! i used half shortening for the cake (i find it makes for a more tender cake.) i followed advice and waited a day to eat, also added a thin layer of rasberry jam in between the layers. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WesMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Awesome cake! So chocolaty. I use white chocolate chips instead of squares and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was an amazing cake. I followed directions and it came out perfect! subbed half and half for buttermilk, and then when it came to layering I used homemade berry syrup, the frosting, which comes out perfect if you just follow the recipe, and a lot of fresh strawberry slices to decorate. The party people were stunned. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was the best cake I ever made from scratch. I got it perfect the first time. I used a hand mixer with no problem, and it wasn't as time-consuming as I expected. There was only one problem: my husband and daughter forgot to take the cake out of the fridge - it was only supposed to be there for 1/2 hour or so. It was cold when served, and did not taste good. But the following day, after being at room temp, I could not stop eating it. It was so moist, and the frosting was perfect. It seems like just a ton of butter, and if you eat it cold, it tastes like you are eating pure butter. But at room temp, after a day or two, it is just wonderful. It's the best cake I've ever tasted. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanne G.
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I only made the frosting from this recipe - and it was perfect. I just put the ingredients into the stand-mixer and let it go - and go - and go - until it was a real whipped-cream type frosting. I was scared away from the cake by the other reviewers, but I think I'll give it a try next time. Thanks for the recipe - I think I'll even try it with dark chocolate as a frosting, too. It turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was looking for a white chocolate frosting for the Red Velvet Cake IV on this site. I found this recipe and made it. I read several reviews, and I followed their suggestion to cook the white chocolate, milk, and flour longer; when I took it off the stove, it was very thick. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but it turned out too thin, and I've ended up adding more sugar and some flour. Other than that, however, the flavor is wonderful, and I'm sure it will compliment my friend's birthday cake perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States