White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
it was definatly 5 stars on the second day!!!, but I followed the recipe exactly but used fine ground sugar instead , but with the icing it went really heavy so I had to start again for the icing I used icing sugar rather than white sugar to be less grainy, definately make this the day BEFORE you need it, I found it didn't taste very much like white chocolate but has a brilliant taste all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Loved this, will use it again! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moogie1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My husband says this is the best cake he's ever had in his entire life (he's over 30 if that matters)--even though I had some problems in the cooking of the cake. I thought I had followed the directions carefully, but it seems as if this recipe is going to take a few more attempts to figure it out. I attempted to bake it into a mini 3 tiered cake. The smallest layer baked well. The second layer's top came out sunken. The third layer did not bake completely through, although the toothpick came out clean--I even tried the test twice just to make sure. So, the outside of the cake was crispy, while the inside was moist and dense. I have not attempted the icing yet. I figure I should perfect the cake first before moving on. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
TRY AGAIN!!! If I could give it 0 stars I would!! This recipe is the worst I have ever tried!! The icing tasted horrible! The texture was all wrong!! It wasn't even "white-white" like the description promised!! I had to put my cake to the side and start over with a new icing the next day! All those ingredients WASTED! It never becomes "light & fluffy" and never is the consistency that can be spread on a cake! Disgusting! Wish I had read more reviews before wasting my time, energy, and white chocolate on this icing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I wish I could give this cake 3.5 stars, because I just can't seem to get to 4. I listened to the other reviewers and made the suggested changes. The cake itself was one of the very best cakes I've ever had the pleasure to taste. It was dense for sure, but I was expecting that. It was awesome! The icing, however, was another issue. It was too thin and slid off the cake. I even added powdered sugar to help thicken but that didn't even help. Then it was just too awfully sweet to eat. So, kudos on the cake but I'm still on the hunt for a "good" icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
1st time I made a white chocolate cake and it was so good and every one loved it, I'am going to make it again for my grandbaby birthday lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leroy White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Best frosting I ever Had. I used it on top of white cupcakes with a raspberry filling.. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is my first cake from scratch and it was awesome! The cake was moist fluffy and delicious. I read the other reviews on whipping the sugar/butter mixture to add the air in the batter. I think this step is essential. If I hadn't known that I might have ended up with a very dense cake. Make sure you whip the sugar/butter until it is really fluffy then add the next ingredients. I will definitely use this again! Very wonderful. I made a day ahead so that it could sit and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was awesome! I found it to be very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
OMG.. THIS CAKE WAS DELICIOUS.. AND UNLIKE OTHERS THAT REVIEWED THIS CAKE.. MINE TASTED JUST LIKE WHITE CHOCOLATE... DELICIOUS... THE FROSTING ON THE OTHER HAND.. 2 THUMBS DOWN.. TRIED TWICE AND FAILED BOTH TIMES.. FINALLY DID MY OWN VERSION WITH WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS AND HEAVY CREAM... PUT THAT ON THE MARVELOUS CAKE.. AND HAD A CAKE TO DIE FOR...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States