White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I made the frosting on my hubby & my anniversary & put it over a chocolate cake. I also added some blueberry pie filling for some of the filling in the middle. It was great! He loved it. It was sweet & light. Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Leona Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
The cake came out looking good, but when it was cut, the inside was very stiff as if the cake was not fully cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This was my first cake ever and it was a success! My mom, who usually complains that the cakes she buys are too sweet, said that this cake is just mildly sweet with a hint of white chocolate. For some reason though, it was a lot sweeter when it was just baked. Use confectioner's sugar for icing. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake was wonderful. I made it for our Easter party and followed the directions exactly. The only tips I can give are, this cake should DEFINITELY be made in advance. When I shaved a little of the cake off the top to taste it, I was not impressed at all. But I finished making the frosting and let the finished and frosted cake sit in the fridge over night loosely wrapped in foil. I set out the cake out a couple hours before we were going to eat it. Every one was impressed. I think it really just needs to sit and set up. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
it was definatly 5 stars on the second day!!!, but I followed the recipe exactly but used fine ground sugar instead , but with the icing it went really heavy so I had to start again for the icing I used icing sugar rather than white sugar to be less grainy, definately make this the day BEFORE you need it, I found it didn't taste very much like white chocolate but has a brilliant taste all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Loved this, will use it again! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moogie1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
My husband says this is the best cake he's ever had in his entire life (he's over 30 if that matters)--even though I had some problems in the cooking of the cake. I thought I had followed the directions carefully, but it seems as if this recipe is going to take a few more attempts to figure it out. I attempted to bake it into a mini 3 tiered cake. The smallest layer baked well. The second layer's top came out sunken. The third layer did not bake completely through, although the toothpick came out clean--I even tried the test twice just to make sure. So, the outside of the cake was crispy, while the inside was moist and dense. I have not attempted the icing yet. I figure I should perfect the cake first before moving on. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
TRY AGAIN!!! If I could give it 0 stars I would!! This recipe is the worst I have ever tried!! The icing tasted horrible! The texture was all wrong!! It wasn't even "white-white" like the description promised!! I had to put my cake to the side and start over with a new icing the next day! All those ingredients WASTED! It never becomes "light & fluffy" and never is the consistency that can be spread on a cake! Disgusting! Wish I had read more reviews before wasting my time, energy, and white chocolate on this icing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I wish I could give this cake 3.5 stars, because I just can't seem to get to 4. I listened to the other reviewers and made the suggested changes. The cake itself was one of the very best cakes I've ever had the pleasure to taste. It was dense for sure, but I was expecting that. It was awesome! The icing, however, was another issue. It was too thin and slid off the cake. I even added powdered sugar to help thicken but that didn't even help. Then it was just too awfully sweet to eat. So, kudos on the cake but I'm still on the hunt for a "good" icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
1st time I made a white chocolate cake and it was so good and every one loved it, I'am going to make it again for my grandbaby birthday lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leroy White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States