White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I am a regular baker. I found this recipe easy to follow and made it for my daughter's teen bday party. I received the best raves (you know teeangers..so hard to please now-a-days). I put a twist on the recipe. My daughter wanted a more "strawberry shortcake" flavor, so I got some good ol' fashioned cool-whip, put a layer with some strawberries in the middle and iced the remaining cake with cool whip, topped with strawberries. The cool-whip hold's it's form better than Whipped cream icing and does not get watery after a few days. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rrose64
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made it today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I'm pretty sure that the frosting is made from the songs of angels. I was so excited about it, I drove over to my coworkers (who were working an overnight shift) to share with them. It's a life-changing experience. I usually convert this into cupcakes, and fill them up with fresh made raspberry filling. So amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
First I must say that this cake is delicious. It is VERY heavy though. I had one piece & I was stuffed! It's not a quick thing to whip up though. The prep wasn't too hard (though the batter was extremely thick & hard to beat), but during the baking let's say I was very worried. The recipe says it takes 35 minutes to bake. I don't what kind of oven the OP was using, but it's a lot better than mine obviously. I checked it at 35 minutes and the cake was the consistency of soup. It took about 55 minutes before it was done and during that time the middle collapsed. Since this was for a birthday party, I was a little freaked out. My husband suggested I put a cut off ice cream cone in the middle to support it then turn it over. This worked like a charm. The only problem was I had a very hard time getting it out of the pan. I used a non-stick spring form pan that I pam'ed the heck out of. With a knife & a lot of force I did manage to get it out in mostly one piece. I didn't think it would look good, but after some repair work w/store bought frosting & decorations, it looked pretty good. My daughter was thrilled with it & everybody enjoyed it. Next time I make it, I try using powdered sugar like others have suggested & I'll try out the original icing recipe. Overall, good cake, but not for a beginner or faint of heart (or anyone on a diet---consider it blown LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Two 9-inch round cake pans were not nearly enough to hold this cake! I wish I would have gone with my gut and used three. I lost the whole thing when the batter spilled over and set off all our smoke detectors. Boo. The little bits that survived the smoke were delicious. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharlajones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It had SO MUTCH butter in it... It did noe RISE AT ALL! had no flavore... The frosting is nice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very moist(: but lacked the white chocolate taste :( I would suggest using butter instead of water & doubling the amount of white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicawigs
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This cake was amazing! I followed the recipe precisely and it turned out fabulous! I decided to give it some color by adding freshly sliced strawberries, which was a big hit!! Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful cake. Did revise and double the recipe also used cake flour along with all purpose flour. It was WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this for my mom for her 50th anniversary because she doesn't like chocolate. It turned out wonderful. I have made it twice now, the first time I used Baker's white chocolate, the second time I used white chocolate chips and the second time the chocolate didn't melt right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verbena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States