White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I'm pretty sure that the frosting is made from the songs of angels. I was so excited about it, I drove over to my coworkers (who were working an overnight shift) to share with them. It's a life-changing experience. I usually convert this into cupcakes, and fill them up with fresh made raspberry filling. So amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
First I must say that this cake is delicious. It is VERY heavy though. I had one piece & I was stuffed! It's not a quick thing to whip up though. The prep wasn't too hard (though the batter was extremely thick & hard to beat), but during the baking let's say I was very worried. The recipe says it takes 35 minutes to bake. I don't what kind of oven the OP was using, but it's a lot better than mine obviously. I checked it at 35 minutes and the cake was the consistency of soup. It took about 55 minutes before it was done and during that time the middle collapsed. Since this was for a birthday party, I was a little freaked out. My husband suggested I put a cut off ice cream cone in the middle to support it then turn it over. This worked like a charm. The only problem was I had a very hard time getting it out of the pan. I used a non-stick spring form pan that I pam'ed the heck out of. With a knife & a lot of force I did manage to get it out in mostly one piece. I didn't think it would look good, but after some repair work w/store bought frosting & decorations, it looked pretty good. My daughter was thrilled with it & everybody enjoyed it. Next time I make it, I try using powdered sugar like others have suggested & I'll try out the original icing recipe. Overall, good cake, but not for a beginner or faint of heart (or anyone on a diet---consider it blown LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Two 9-inch round cake pans were not nearly enough to hold this cake! I wish I would have gone with my gut and used three. I lost the whole thing when the batter spilled over and set off all our smoke detectors. Boo. The little bits that survived the smoke were delicious. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharlajones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It had SO MUTCH butter in it... It did noe RISE AT ALL! had no flavore... The frosting is nice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very moist(: but lacked the white chocolate taste :( I would suggest using butter instead of water & doubling the amount of white chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicawigs
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This cake was amazing! I followed the recipe precisely and it turned out fabulous! I decided to give it some color by adding freshly sliced strawberries, which was a big hit!! Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful cake. Did revise and double the recipe also used cake flour along with all purpose flour. It was WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this for my mom for her 50th anniversary because she doesn't like chocolate. It turned out wonderful. I have made it twice now, the first time I used Baker's white chocolate, the second time I used white chocolate chips and the second time the chocolate didn't melt right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
When making this cake, there are a few key tips to keep in mind for a perfect cake: 1. Substitute CAKE FLOUR for part but not all of the all-purpose flour. It will give your cake lightness and a great texture. I made this with a friend, we doubled the recipe and used 3 cups of AP flour and 2 cups of cake flour, the texture was divine! Cake flour will also keep your cake from developing gluten and help prevent overbeating. 2. For the frosting, replace the granulated white sugar with powdered sugar for smoothness. The white sugar is just too gritty! 3. Again for the frosting, make the white chocolate mixture ahead of time because it needs to cool completely or it will melt your butter and sugar mixture. Also, it takes a lot of time for it to become thick and it should be the consistency of custard or pull away from the sides of the pan easily into almost a ball. It took us a good 15-20 minutes at least. Our arms were hurting, but we got a good workout! Read the recipe all the way through and make sure to pay attention to the details. This cake has a lot of stages so you can plan ahead. The texture and taste were wonderful and I'd make it again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
DELISH!!! Was not to dry and looked like the perfect wedding cake texture. I also did this with one layer being dark choc instead of the white and it was a fan favorite. We also quadrupled the recipe for bulk cooking and it held up well =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States