White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Wasn't a fan of this recipe. The cake was quite nice, but the frosting was a nightmare for me. I did everything it said and it came out nothing like it was meant to. It says that the chocolate and milk mixture should be "very thick" when heated which just didn't happen at all for me, and even though I cooled the mixture completely and added it very gradually it curdled horrifically into a scrambled egg like mess and I had to whip up some buttercream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The cake was good.. I did not enjoy the frosting.. I think a white chocolate ganash would have worked better on this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I only made the frosting and here's what I have to say. The instructions are not very good. The white chocolate, milk, and flour need to be put in a heatproof bowl and heated over a pan of water. The mixture never got thick for me. However, after about 15 min I said forget it and took it off the heat to cool. I cooled it in the fridge for about 20 min. The butter mixture needs to be beat at med/high speed for about 4 min, then I added the white chocolate mixture and beat for another 2 min. It was the correct consistency then. I tasted it and thought it should have more of a white chocolate taste and I didn't like the fact that I could taste the sugar crystals. I'm going to put it in the fridge tonite and frost a cake tomorrow. I'm sure it will be fine but I think I'll look for another white chocolate frosting recipe. Let me know if you have one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is a wonderful cake. Even my 28 year old grandson,( who doesn't like anything") loved it.There is no "grease". This is a keeper. If you want an "instant" cake, buy a mix.This cake shows effort and love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Other reviewers are on spot about the frosting. This is not one of those recipes you can make and have the same day. You really do need to make the frosting a day or two before the cake. It's a process, but worth it. I bet that frosting would even taste good on carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I wish I read more of the reviews before I made this cake. Taste-wise it is delicious but it was a lot of work to save the day. I have been baking for almost 50 years and have never had such a disaster of a cake! Too much batter for 9-inch pans,took longer to baked then specified, fell apart coming out of the pans, icing way to runny and the final straw after making this as presentable as possible the frosted cake cracked in half! I will NEVER make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I am a regular baker. I found this recipe easy to follow and made it for my daughter's teen bday party. I received the best raves (you know teeangers..so hard to please now-a-days). I put a twist on the recipe. My daughter wanted a more "strawberry shortcake" flavor, so I got some good ol' fashioned cool-whip, put a layer with some strawberries in the middle and iced the remaining cake with cool whip, topped with strawberries. The cool-whip hold's it's form better than Whipped cream icing and does not get watery after a few days. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rrose64
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made it today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I'm pretty sure that the frosting is made from the songs of angels. I was so excited about it, I drove over to my coworkers (who were working an overnight shift) to share with them. It's a life-changing experience. I usually convert this into cupcakes, and fill them up with fresh made raspberry filling. So amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
First I must say that this cake is delicious. It is VERY heavy though. I had one piece & I was stuffed! It's not a quick thing to whip up though. The prep wasn't too hard (though the batter was extremely thick & hard to beat), but during the baking let's say I was very worried. The recipe says it takes 35 minutes to bake. I don't what kind of oven the OP was using, but it's a lot better than mine obviously. I checked it at 35 minutes and the cake was the consistency of soup. It took about 55 minutes before it was done and during that time the middle collapsed. Since this was for a birthday party, I was a little freaked out. My husband suggested I put a cut off ice cream cone in the middle to support it then turn it over. This worked like a charm. The only problem was I had a very hard time getting it out of the pan. I used a non-stick spring form pan that I pam'ed the heck out of. With a knife & a lot of force I did manage to get it out in mostly one piece. I didn't think it would look good, but after some repair work w/store bought frosting & decorations, it looked pretty good. My daughter was thrilled with it & everybody enjoyed it. Next time I make it, I try using powdered sugar like others have suggested & I'll try out the original icing recipe. Overall, good cake, but not for a beginner or faint of heart (or anyone on a diet---consider it blown LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States