White Chocolate Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I would give this 4 stars for taste, but although I selected the 1.5 pound loaf option on the bread machine, when I sliced into it, the loaf was raw in the middle. I tried to finish it off in the oven, but then it was totally over-cooked and tough on the outside. I will definitely make this again, but will try the 2 pound loaf option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
Really wonderfull tasting bread. Everyone should try it. I also did this by hand and was just as easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I have made this bread about 6 times. I think it is important to add the ingred. into the machine as stated and NOT to prep the yeast first. Otherwise, it will rise too high and push the lid of the machine open (as has happened to yours truly). It is not really a 'white chocolate' tasting bread (the name is a little misleading), but a sweet bread with a hint of cinnamon. A lovely breakfast bread. Great with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Definitely a sweet bread and the flavors are very subtle. DH said it was "like candy". Texture was nice and smooth. Ended up adding 3 tbs. of flour extra from the ingredients as listed to get the "tacky" feel to the dough (it's been very rainy here). Definitely rose too much -- filled my 2lb machine with 1 1/2 lb ingredients listed, but suspect that might be using liquids which were too warm rather than too much flour. Will definitely try again with cold liquids. Made again with cold liquids. Only had to add 1 tbs of extra flour to get nice elastic dough. Still filled my 2lb machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Too buttery for our tastes. The Chocolate Chip Bread I uses only 1 1/2 tsp of yeast, and 2 tbsp of butter and it rose just as high as this one did and tasted just right. May try making this one again, but with less yeast and butter. Still a pretty good bread. It baked up high and fluffy, and soft, too. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
The final product was a reasonably sweet, but unremarkable bread that disappoints those who are chocolate fans. Not a keeper in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I tried this recipe several times. The only time I got it to work is when my 3year old turned my 2lb breadmaker off in the middle of the cycle and I started again tfrom the beginning. The dough will rise too high (even when I used 1.5 lb measurements) and it is barely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Great bread. My husband raved about it and without hesitating rated it a 5. Made exactly as directions stated. Did not rise too high but just perfect and the consistency of the bread was wonderful. The cinnamon and the white chocolate complimented each other nicely. Next time I make it, I may add another 1/2 cup of chips. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Quite good! It did _not_ shape perfectly, it fell on one side; something is wrong with the recipe's balance. However, it _did_ taste great, with a caramelly taste where the melted chips were. It was even better after cooling for a few hours, when the flavours seemed to have permeated. Make it for your family, but not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
we liked this bread best still hot from the bread maker. The gooey white choclate chips were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States