White Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I've made this chili recipe at least 5 times and it just gets better and better. I always add extra cayenne pepper and cinammon to give it additional flavor, and I add a small can of corn. Mixing both black and white beans is a good touch too. And don't forget to reduce the amount of chicken broth to your desired thickness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
666 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I only used 1/2 of the cinnamon called for and am glad; I think using the full amount would have been too much, but with half of it, it created a really nice complex flavor with the cumin and the green chiles. Also, I drained and rinsed the beans, I always do this because it helps reduce some of the sodium in canned beans and it gets rid of that yucky starchy gooey liquid. Even without the bean liquid, I still only used 3 cups of stock and that was plenty. I did mash one can of beans with a fork instead of pureeing it, and I only added about 1/2 cup of cheese to the soup. I didn't think it was necessary to put 2 cups of cheese in it and add all that fat; I left the rest of the cheese out for us to add a little to each of our bowls. My husband ate three bowls of this the first night, so it is definitely a keeper, and I didn't think I would like white chili. what a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Definitely the best recipe I've found for white chili. I substituted diced chicken pieces for the ground turkey; added more beans; & since i didn't have green chilies, substituted Pepper Jack cheese for the Monterey jack & added a little Chipotle Chili Pepper for some zing. It's the combination of seasonings that make this dish so awesome. If you're tempted to leave out the cinnamon...DON'T! Threw some corn starch in to thicken, simmered for about 30 min.& served with rice,sour cream, extra cheese & corn chips. Thanks Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This recipe makes excellent white chili when slightly modified. The first time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out way too soupy with too much of a cinammon taste. I reduced the broth to 3 cups and the cinammon to a half teaspoon, per other reviews, and it was AWESOME! I took it to a chili potluck and got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Beard Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I liked the different use of beans in this chili, instead of simply subsituting ground turykey for ground beef. I doubled the garlic, cumin and oregano, cut the chicken broth to 2 cups (I didn't want soup), omitted the jack cheese (I didn't have any) and simmered on the stove for hours to let the flavors blend. Served with mini corn bread muffins. When trying new recipes, I usually ask my husband: 'is this a make-agin?' The answer was 'yes'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was outstanding. I did make some changes. I used crushed red pepper (all I had), I omitted the cinnamon and green chilies (I do not like the taste) and instead of the white beans I used mild chili beans. I also took other advice and only used about 1 15oz. can of chicken broth. That was the real clincher on the taste. It was wonderful. I would definetly make it again and again. Even my 2 year old ate it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
My husband liked the flavor of this better than regular chili. To be honest, I was skeptical of the cinnamon, put it in anyway and didn't tell my husband. I used diced chicken breasts instead of the ground turkey because that is what i had on hand. it has really good flavor. I just wish that it was thicker like regular chili instead of like a bean soup. *7/03, made this again and subbed 3/4 cup uncooked rice for the beans and the liquid the same. Not chili anymore, but a really great spicy chicken and rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made this weeks ago and feel I've done a great disservice by not praising it immediately! I truly loved it both times I made it. I went w/ advice from others to cut down on the broth and only used 2 cups. It was soo cold out, so I made cornbread with it for a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is an awesome recipe. I omitted the cinnamon and added a half pack of taco seasoning. It came out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
1 word: awesome! This chili has a very different taste, but it is simply excellent. My boyfriend was so surprised when I told him the magic ingredient to the different flavor was cinnamon. I did have to use great northern beans because, well, I live in the middle of nowhere and no stores around here have cannellini/white kidney beans that I can find. I used 4 cups of broth, which was fine for us, but I suppose cutting it down wouldn't be a bad thing. Also, I did this in my slow cooker so dinner would be ready when we got home tonight. Here's what I did: browned my turkey with garlic salt and cumin, added the green chilis and spices and let them simmer while I put all the beans plus 1 can of whole kernel corn in the slow cooker. Then I threw the meat mixture in and let it cook on low for 5 hours. Served it with sour cream and shredded monterey jack. SO GOOD! Thank you for a great chili for this chilly night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States