White Chili IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was a very good base for White Chili. I did make it my own way, as most of us do. Here are my alterations: I used 2 cans of white kidney beans; I omitted the wine, rosemary, red bell pepper, green onion, mushrooms and bay leaves; I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a lot of frozen corn. And I coated the chicken in flour and corn starch before browning. That helps to thicken up the stew and keeps the chicken nice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWGARDENER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Made this last night and it was fantastic! Now, to everyone who thought this was too soupy - it's supposed to be soupy! The flavor is in the liquid! I used two cans of diced green chiles instead of fresh only because I didn't like the looks of the ones in my grocery store that day. Also reduced the mushrooms to about a half package, diced, and that seemed like plenty for me. Same with the parsley: 1/2 - 3/4 bunch. With the beans I used one can of pintos, one cannellini, and one great northern. I seasoned the chicken with Jane's Krazy Mixed-Up Pepper Blend and sprinkled a liberal amount in the chili as it simmered. Went a little heavy on the cumin too since we like it. Topped it off with shredded cheddar cheese. All my guys thought this was a great meal for a cold day. Froze the one serving that was left over. Bonus: My husband and I agreed that this could very easily be a vegetarian dish. I really don't think the chicken added to the flavor. Next time, I'll just throw in some extra beans or soup pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
this recipe was a hit for our small group, not much left over. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Great flavor and a terrific alternative to regular chili! I highly recommend this soup. I cooked it without the chicken and added a can of navy beans to the recipe. I also added in chili pepper and extra cumin. Serve with sour cream and it is sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
LOVED IT! My bf went crazy for it too. I left out the mushrooms since I ran out of room in my pot. I also used cilantro instead of parsley and frozen green chili instead of fresh. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is so good! It's one of those recipes you instantly want to share with family/friends. I only made 2 changes to the recipe - omitted rosemary (couldn't find mine) and subbed cooking sherry for the white wine (didn't have any). Even with these changes, it was fabulous! It cooks down to almost no liquid, so I suggest adding more chicken broth - maybe half a can to a whole can depending on how you like your chili. Fans of crumbled cracker or tortilla chips in the bowl will for sure want the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
yum! I did make some modifications. I heated up the olive oil with some chicken broth and essentially poached the chicken, and then shredded in the pot with two forks. I added a handful of dry pasta (what was left from a box of ziti) and some frozen corn near the end, and allowed it to cook down for 30 more minutes; the starch from the pasta and its absorption of the liquid thickened up the chili to a very nice stew-like consistency. Overall, I probably simmered the chili for almost 3 hours. Could do in a slow cooker too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I used fresh herbs, northern beans instead of pinto, and left out the mushrooms. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Oh so good! I mostly followed the recipe but I forget to get thyme and couldn't find any bay leaves. I used two small cans of green chiles instead of fresh. I added a liberal amount of hot sauce, and about 3 tablespoons of diced jalapenos. Perfect amount of spicy! I also used a variety of white beans. Pinto, great northern, and cannellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I'm making this one again. It tastes similar to the White Chicken Chili at Ruby Tuesday's, only better. Worth the effort of putting together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarrettdaCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States