White Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used 1 lb ground chicken and 1 lb ground turkey, becuase that is what I had. I also added an extra can of beans, 2 cloves of garlic and 3 t of flour to thicken. It was great and very easy. Will do over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
more of a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I rate this recipe only a 3 stars as written because it would be extremely bland with just the amount of seasoning listed. I doubled the seasoning in addition to adding a minced glove of garlic. The end result was flavorful but for those with a spicy pallet I think you would be disappointed with the amount of 'heat'. Also I only added 1 cup of broth instead of 1 1/4 to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Given 4 stars instead of 5 because the recipe does need a little 'tweaking' to suit individual tastes. However, it was wonderful and quick. I made the following changes (made for enough fro 2 people): To lower calories/fat I completely left out the cheese. It was so tasty I didn't notice. I used one can of Great Northern beans (couldn't find cannellini beans), drained. I used another half can of Great Northern but mashed them up before adding so the chili would thicken. After reading the reviews a lot of them said it was too runny....This step made the chili really thick but I like it that way. I suppose if you want it 'soupier' then add more broth or use flour instead of beans to thicken. I also added about a 1/2tsp of cayenne rather than 1/8tsp but I like SPICY. Instead of cooking the chili with the chicken, I seasoned chicken breasts and baked them in the oven. When done, I cut the chicken into cubes and added them on top of the chili mixture. A dollop of fat free sour cream and some fresh green onions on top and it was a PERFECT meal. I didn't cook the chili with the chicken because I wanted to control my portions and if there were leftovers, I don't like to freeze and re-heat meat so I try to cook only the amount of meat we will eat at one sitting. The only thing I would do differently is add fresh cilantro rather than dried. Cornbread and a salad and you have dinner lickity-split!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is my go-to recipe for white chili. It's so simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! I didn't have all the spices so I used some taco seasoning (since it contained most of the spices) and added oregano as well. The cheese and green onions top it off perfectly. Will most certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I thought this was really good. it's not quite a five-star recipe in my book, but one that is worth trying. Everyone else liked it more than I did, including my picky twin 8 year olds and 6 year old. Per suggestions, I made the following changes: omitted cayenne pepper because of the kids and added 1T chili powder, 1T lime juice, 2 cans of beans and 1 can of beans ground into paste for a thickener. For toppings, I had sour cream, bacon, Fritos, shredded cheese and green onions. I saw someone had avocado slices in their picture of the dish and I bet that would be tasty too! Good dish for a cold winter's day. Thanks, Dierdre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happydale Inmate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Good, but bland. Per another white chili recipe I have... added 2 T. flour for thickening, an extra 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. salt, and 1/8 tsp. pepper. Also added a drained can of corn. EXCELLENT after adding the changes!! Oh, also added the Jack cheese and sour cream on top which really made it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good, and super quick. I use canned chicken breast in place of the cooked chicken. I used two 13 oz cans (the kind from Sams's Club). Went to make this and realized I didn't buy canellini beans! Had some navy beans, so I used those instead. I also used the 7 oz can of green chiles I had in the pantry, and a whole can of chicken broth. It was very good. My 6 year old asked for seconds, so it is a winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVINGNOZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
As the recipe is it is good but it's great when you add a bit more broth. I also added a can of hominy and some more spices. I finished it offl with a dollop of sour cream and some green onions diced and mixed in with chopped fresh cilantro and chopped tomatoe with a splash of lime juice. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3girls

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States