White Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We liked this a lot. I did make some changes. I increased the oil to 3 T. I used the leftovers of some roasted rosemary chicken breasts we had earlier in the week and shredded them up. I used only 1 cup of chicken broth. I doubled all the spices except for the cumin and oregano. The oregano I left as is because we don't like a strong oregano flavor, and I tripled the amount of cumin. I also added a tablespoon of chili powder, and some celery seed, lime juice, and a few shakes of Frank's Red Hot. I used three cans of beans (not drained) -- two great northern, and one black. I pureed one can of the great northerns. I also added a can of drained corn. I put the whole thing in a slow cooker on high for a few hours, and served with sour cream and shredded cheese. We loved it, and used tortilla chips to scoop it with. And the kids didn't complain of it being too spicy, but it seemed just spicy enough to my husband and I. We'll be adding this to our rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very similar to Paula Dean's, using fresh cilantro and canned beans....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holmes486

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good recipe, excellent leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe...I made one substitution, I used a rotisserie chicken, chopped it up..it was very flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great chili! Friends and hubby loved it. However, I doubled the recipe and just had enough for the four of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a flavorful chili, but had too much onion for my taste. I used 3/4 of a medium onion, and still seemed too overpowering. The other spices add good flavor, but next time would cut back to at least half the amount of onion. I did not have the issue of this being too thin...only a small amount of thin liquid in the bottom of the bowl. Great with a little of the cheese and some crackers. It is a bonus that this soup isn't loaded with fat, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My husband had not heard of White Chili. He can be a very picky eater--he loves this recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This Chili is FANTASTIC! I was pleasantly surprised at how good it is. Will make again! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
WONDERFUL! I "combined" the suggestions of the first 5 reviewers. I doubled the beans, nearly doubled the spices (abt 1/2 more on each), didn't drain the beans, added beans abt 5 minutes before time to eat. I did had 1/4 cup more broth but that's because after simmering, I let the soup sit for about 45 minutes to really get that spice into the chicken. WOW! I was SO amazed just how good it turned out! I would say if you like really spicey, add more spice. I cut the chicken into little cubes. There's enough soup for at least 7 bowlfuls especially with the extra beans. I would think 1 1/2 cans would be plenty. Next time, I will drain the beans & add extra broth & some flour or cornstarch. See what happens. YUMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was amazing! I threw everything into the crockpot, including two cans of beans. I ended up mashing an additional can of beans to thicken it up. Super tasty topped with shredded provel cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States