White Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
thought this was super bland. i agree...it's a good base recipe but it needs all kinds of stuff to make it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I liked this. I used 3 cans of beans and blended them to make it thick. The seasonings were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Good chili. I actually let this simmer for 2 hours. I added a 2 cups of chicken broth and a can of pureed white beans and 1tbsp of cornstarch to thicken it up. Topped it off with sour cream and crushed tortilla chips. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I liked this a lot. I thought I had green chilis but I only had diced, canned , jalapenos so I used that which made it really spicy. I forgot the cliantro(whoops) and I added a little chili powder. I used my stick blender to puree up some of the soup because all those beans would have scared off my kids and hubby, which made it less broth like. I simmered it for about an hour and then used a little cornstarch slurry to thicken it. It was very thin. I served with shredded pepper jack and crushed tortilla chips. It was more like a spicy chicken soup with beans. My whole family ate it and liked it. I was pleased. It tasted like something from a restaurant. I wish I had not forgotten the cilantro. I also think it would be good with a can of diced tomatoes with green chilis in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was a yummy, quick and easy lunch for 4 people. I used 1 can canellini beans, and 1 can navy beans. I blended the canellini beans and used as a thickener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used 1 lb ground chicken and 1 lb ground turkey, becuase that is what I had. I also added an extra can of beans, 2 cloves of garlic and 3 t of flour to thicken. It was great and very easy. Will do over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
more of a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I rate this recipe only a 3 stars as written because it would be extremely bland with just the amount of seasoning listed. I doubled the seasoning in addition to adding a minced glove of garlic. The end result was flavorful but for those with a spicy pallet I think you would be disappointed with the amount of 'heat'. Also I only added 1 cup of broth instead of 1 1/4 to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Given 4 stars instead of 5 because the recipe does need a little 'tweaking' to suit individual tastes. However, it was wonderful and quick. I made the following changes (made for enough fro 2 people): To lower calories/fat I completely left out the cheese. It was so tasty I didn't notice. I used one can of Great Northern beans (couldn't find cannellini beans), drained. I used another half can of Great Northern but mashed them up before adding so the chili would thicken. After reading the reviews a lot of them said it was too runny....This step made the chili really thick but I like it that way. I suppose if you want it 'soupier' then add more broth or use flour instead of beans to thicken. I also added about a 1/2tsp of cayenne rather than 1/8tsp but I like SPICY. Instead of cooking the chili with the chicken, I seasoned chicken breasts and baked them in the oven. When done, I cut the chicken into cubes and added them on top of the chili mixture. A dollop of fat free sour cream and some fresh green onions on top and it was a PERFECT meal. I didn't cook the chili with the chicken because I wanted to control my portions and if there were leftovers, I don't like to freeze and re-heat meat so I try to cook only the amount of meat we will eat at one sitting. The only thing I would do differently is add fresh cilantro rather than dried. Cornbread and a salad and you have dinner lickity-split!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States