White Cheese Chicken Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I can't rave about this recipe enough! It was absolutely fabulous! I only added about 1 1/2 pks of the spinach, and mixed the spinach, ricotta & chicken together for easy layering. I used fresh (refrigerated), no-boil noodles and just let them cook in the sauce. I did add about 1/2 cup white wine to the sauce and added a lot more garlic. I did add almost twice the amount of ricotta and added a few extra cups of mozzerella. (There's no such thing as too much cheese in my house:) My husband and friend who came over for dinner couldn't get enough!. Definitely elegant and interesting enough to serve at a dinner party, but great for any family dinner as well. I was just really pleased with this meal. **Addendum 8/24/04--I just wanted to add that recently I began using fresh spinach in this recipe and it improved greatly. I de-stemmed the spinach (about 1 lb bag) and then threw it in a pan with 1 tablespoon olive oil. Cooked it down until it was tender and bright green. The frozen spinach is mostly stems, so substituting fresh spinach took care of that problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
971 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
The only way I could describe this dish is havenly. It is pretty rich though so I won't be making it often and I felt like I dirtied every pan I own. I made a few adjustments and have a few more that I will try next time I make it. For the sauce I added about two teaspoons of chopped garlic from a jar and thought it was perfect. I didn't chop my onions fine enough though. I recommend you chop them very fine. I only had one 10 oz can of chicken broth so I made up the rest of the two cups of broth with white wine. I used the amount of oregano and basil called for and thought that was perfect. But the wine may have hidden some of the taste. I added salt and pepper at the very end based on taste. I am not sure how much I added. The recipe is not clear if the noodles should be precooked, so I used no bake noodles. I baked the chicken in the oven with no spices. The chicken itself didn't have much flavor, but you don't miss it with everything else going on. I used a 16 oz package of spinach and was still a little too much in my opinion. Next time I will use one 10 oz package. I didn't pay attention to how the recipe said to layer, because it didn't make any sense to me. I put a third of the sauce in the pan, a layer of noodles, half of the chicken, spinach, and ricotta. Then another layer of noodles, 1/3 of the sauce, rest of the chicken, spinach and ricotta. The final layer of noodles and sauce. Then the mozzerella and parm. cheese. Because I made ahead of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
my sister absolutely loves this dish! whenever she comes to visit from college, she begs me to make it. to kick up the flavor in the chicken, i marinate it overnight in a combination of roasted garlic (garlic drizzled w/ olive oil and put in the oven until it's soft and sweet), FRESH basil (nothing compares to the flavor) olive oil, and a splash of lemon juice. then i grill the chicken for additional flavor. it really makes it rustic. I add a layer of sauteed veggies (onion, garlic, fresh garlic, mushrooms, matchstick carrots, and zucchini). Mine ends up going: sauce, noodles, ricotta/spinich mixture, chicken, sauce, noodles, ricotta/spinich, veggies, sauce, noodles, ricotta/spinich, chicken, sauce, cheese. It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
This was wonderful. I made the following modifications: made 1/3 more sauce. Used only 1 package of spinach, which I mixed into the ricotta. I layered in the following way: 1/4 sauce, 3 noodles, 1/2 ricotta/spinach, 1/2 chicken, 1/4 of sauce, 1/3 of remaining mozz/parm, 3 noodles, rest of ricotta/spinach, rest of chicken, 1/4 of sauce, 1/3 of remaining mozz/parm, 3 noodles, rest of sauce, rest of mozz/parm, sprinkled with fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was fabulous! My husband enjoyed it so much he took leftovers for lunch the next day. I did cook 1/2 lb of chopped bacon until crisp, remove and drain on some paper towel. I then cooked 2 chopped raw chicken breast in the bacon grease until slightly brown and done and then drained on paper towels. Giving the chicken a slight bacony flavour. Then in layering I sprinkled the cooked bacon over the layer of spinach. It was great. It combined one of my favourite combinations, a classic, chicken, bacon and spinach. You must try adding the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
DELICIOUS!! I used fat free ricotta cheese and couldn't even tell the difference. I also cut back on the spinach because I thought one package was more then enough. I was a little confused as to whether or not I should cook the noodles first. I chose not to and they cooked perfectly in the cheese sauce!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I went on the fantastic reviews and made this dish for a group of 12 women without even testing it out first. I was scared, but I have nothing to be scared of! It was awesome! I took the advice of others and added extra mozzerella on the top and used no-boil noodles. It all worked out perfectly and every single woman at my party asked for the recipe. I HIGHLY recommend this! PS - My husaband like this recipe so much that he ate some for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPRUETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I found this recipe 5 years ago right after I got married and was in need of some good recipes. This was a HOME RUN! I have since added lots more garlic, more cheese and even created a spinach and mushroom layer that I also flavor with garlic. I get asked for this recipe whenever I make it. Most importantly...it has become a family favorite! I usually do most of the prep work far in advance so I just need to throw it all together and whip up the sauce. Well worth the efforts every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Wow! This recipe is awesome! My entire family raved--and they are fussy eaters! Modifications: I used chicken tenders and poached them, then shredded them (used about 3c.shredded chicken); strained poaching liquid and added 2 chicken bouillon cubes to 3c liquid (stay with me here) instead of the 2c canned broth, added about 1/2c more milk plus that extra cup broth BECAUSE I used no-boil lasagna noodles. Sauce consistency was PERFECT!!! I also covered pan with foil and baked about 45-50 minutes, and let it stand without foil outside oven about 10 minutes to "set up". Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Easy. Delicious. Great as leftovers, if there's any left. Want to try a white chicken pizza with this white sauce and grilled chicken sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States