White Cheese Chicken Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Several years ago at a conference, I was served the most divine white sauce chicken lasagna and have been looking for it's match ever since. I think that this recipe could serve as the base for my dream lasagna. First made just as instructed, my family liked this but thought it was more like a chicken casserole than a lasagna and ended up spooning generous dallops of pesto over our servings to liven the dish up. So, second time around I added 1cup of pesto in with the ricotta mix. It was near perfect with the addition of pesto. My son and I still spooned a bit more over our servings and the man did not, all agreed that the recipe was greatly improved with the abundance of basil, pine nuts and olive oil from the adding the fresh pesto. This dish is deliciously rich as written, we thought it just lacked the flavor to match and think the pesto corrects the balance to near perfection. Those painfully aware of fats could reduce butter in the sauce to counter some of the oil in the pesto. We will make again with the changes to suit our taste and am thankful to have found this great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moggy
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I wish we could give half stars, I would give this recipe 3.5 stars as is. Something is off with the seasonings. Hubby declared it 'different' - I made homemade lasagna noodles for mine (the noodles were great) - used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one (we love garlic), sautéed 1 pound of fresh spinach and an extra splash of milk since my sauce got almost too thick to spread. I don't know if its the oregano that gave it a funky taste for us or the Basil. I'm normally a huge fan of Basil so I'm guessing it may have just been too much oregano. Might try it again when I have the time, but will definitely adjust the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
a few minor errors on my part but for the most part it was pretty good. the important thing was that my family of picky eaters liked it. i added mushrooms, spinach and tomato sauce to my lasagna which only enhanced the flavor. next time i will need to add more cheese and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Love this recipe. Have made it several times. The only thing I did was to season the chicken breasts before cooking them. It's important to make one layer of spinach and the next layer of chicken. They will keep their individual tastes/flavors that way. Don't follow advice of others and mix it all together (really). A couple of times, I substituted broccoli cuts for the spinach and it was good. A lot of work . . . but so well worth it. ALSO - use the lasagna noodles that you cook. So much better than the non-cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious and seasoned well, this is almost like an alfredo lasagna, so it's pretty rich. Not a diet recipe, for sure, but so so good as a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
While this was good, It really needed something else to make the flavor pop. I may try this again with some pesto and sun dried tomatoes, but as the recipe stands as it is, I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amiller

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
It was great! Perfect flavor and our kids loved it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was absolutely fantastic. My husband and children asked if we could have leftovers the next night. That never happens! I stayed true to the original recipe except for omitting one box of spinach simply because I only had one box in my freezer. I can't rave enough. This will enter my regular dinner rotation, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Freeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used Barilla's no cook lasagna noodles which made this an easy dish. It was delicious and a great change from our usual lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We had this for Christmas at my sister in laws this last weekend. Was simply amazing. The only thing different she did was add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States