White Cheddar Macaroni with Bacon and Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Traci
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I added asiago cheese for a twist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I made some modifications for my family's Thanksgiving meal: - Used 1 lb hot sausage instead of bacon - Along with the white cheddar, I added some fresh shredded Parmesan cheese and shredded italian mix - Topped with about 3/4 cup panko mixed with: smoked paprika, garlic powder, cumin, sage, and grated parmesan - Instead of thyme, I seasoned with smoked paprika, sage, cumin, and garlic powder. I did not add any salt because of the amount of salt both in the sausage and cheese. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Delicious! I topped with some panko crumbs mixed with melted butter (a little trick I learned from "Chef John's Mac & Cheese" from this website). I also used more Parmesan cheese on the bottom. I made a Parmesan basket with coursly grated Parmigiano Reggiano, a little trick I learned on a Princess cruise last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
THIS IS A GOOD BASE RECIPE!AS WRITTEN JUST OK FOR ME. IT NEEDS ALOT MORE CHEESE! IT ALMOST REMINDS ME OF ALFREDO WHICH ISNT A BAD THING! MY DAUGHTER HAD SECONDS SO SHE REALLY ENJOYED IT! I ADDED CUBED CHICKEN BREAST AND SAUTEED SPINACH ALSO ADDED ALOT MORE PARMESAN CHEESE AND A DASH OF NUTMEG!TOPPED IT WITH PARMESAN, CHEDDAR AND BREAD CRUMBS I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN WITH MY CHANGES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I've tried out a few bacon-onion mac & cheeses. This was pretty good. I like mine to be a bit more zippy, so I think next time I would add mustard (I like dijon, but you could also add just mustard powder too). I did use less bacon than called for, but next time I would use more. I also just left the bacon in the whole time the sauce was cooking and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
A nice twist to traditional baked mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Great recipe!! I made it almost exactly as it's written- only very small changes- used macaroni instead of penne and yellow instead of white cheddar. I thought it was excellent and have been eating leftovers for lunches. My husband wasn't real crazy about the thyme, but that's a personal flavor issue. He said other than that, it was delicious! We both really liked the bacon and I believe including the bacon drippings in the sauce made the whole meal meld together well-- the bacon flavor really added something to traditional mac and cheese! It did take me about an hour, even before baking, but it tasted great in the end. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a definite keeper! Although I served this as a side dish with chicken, it would easily stand alone as a main course. I halved the recipe and baked in an 8x8 casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Had bacon to use and found this recipe. I chose this over the other bacon mac recipes because the onions are fried in the bacon fat, which makes sense to me, especially if you want to add more bacon flavor aside from the crumbled bacon itself. Came out rather good! I think it might also be good with smoked cheese and sun-dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I changed it by adding 2 grilled chicken breasts as well. My husband says it wasn't cheesy enough for him. I think it needed more flavor-maybe some garlic and rosemary would have been good. A good start though:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States