White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
very sweet and creamy! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was very creamy and nice tasting. I added a tad more sugar. For me, the shortening gave it a bit too much of a greasy after feel in the mouth. Next time I will try it with butter. My guests loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Wow that was easy! I had bought a store bought container but it wasn't enough for a double layer cake. I used margarine instead of shortening, it was so easy and tastes so good I wish I hadn't bought the first canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I like it, but if u used it like that it has a shortening flavor so i add a little bit of butter like 1/4 cup and some whipped cream like 1/3 and a little bit more powder sugar, and like 1 teaspone of vanilla, it will make it more creamy and better taste like a vanilla frosting hpe this is better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Terry Its maybe because your water may have been to warm or that you used warm watter and it may have caused it to melt down the sugar a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Great recipe for a general glaze or icing but not really a firm frosting to decorate or frost a cake with. I used it for my moms mothers day cake and it was great since she doesnt like a thick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. It went on well and looked beautiful, but it tasted exactly like what it was... sugar flavored shortening. Not so appetizing. I will try it with butter next time- that sounds much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
FABULOUS!! I made two white 8" round cakes and topped one with this delicious frosting and angel flake coconut. It looked so beautiful! On the other one, I used a little red food coloring to make a strawberry cake with pink frosting. I decorated it with fresh strawberries. This frosting is so versatile; goes on smoothly and is so fluffy! My husband and grandkids loved their cakes! Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Excellent. Easy. Perfect for decorating. Yummy.. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Easy and quick recipe (my favorite kind!) and tasted great too. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Smart Balance veg shortening. Also subbed 1/2 of the water for heavy cream. Needed a few extra drops for the right consistency. Frosting is pretty, spreads well and looks great with decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dixfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States