White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
perfect base for decorating cakes etc. absolutely perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Burke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Thanks for sharing >>>.Just what I was looking for.......BIG HIT with the lil one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was very sweet and therefore perfect for decorating cookies. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
So easy and tasty!! I will never buy frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmiller2011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
A very good basic frosting recipe. I doubled this recipe for a 2 layer cake. I used half butter flavored shortening and half regular and it was still white, despite the yellow coloring of the butter flavored shortening. I colored some with food dye for decorating the cake. Since I'm not a cake decorator, I just did the basic piping and wording. I had plenty of frosting left over. To me, this tastes just like the frosting you would get in a grocery store bakery cake. Very good for my purposes. Can't wait to try to make chocolate frosting and more from this recipe. I don't think I'm ever going to buy canned frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Steward
Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Good flavor and easy to work with. It was nice and fluffy, which is just what I needed. I didn't have time to find Hi-Ratio shortening (whatever that is), so I used regular. It was a little greasy, but not greasy enough to kill the frosting for me. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made this based on the rave review by naples and because i needed a white white frosting (my go to is Butter Cream II from here and it uses butter so it's not white white). My grocery store doesn't carry the Hi-Ratio shortening, so I was stuck using Crisco. This is ok, but def has the greasy telltale shortening consistency. I may use again when I need white white, but will stick w/Butter Cream II as my go to frosting. EDIT: I've since amended my rating to 5 stars....the difference? Hi ratio shortening! It makes all the difference in the world. I also now add a dash or two of butter flavored extract to this frosting, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
So good I could eat this with a spoon! Since the frosting doesn't call for butter, and I did want a white frosting, I used Hi-Ratio shortening, clear vanilla and some butter flavoring. I made 1-1/2 times the recipe (for Mini Oreo Surprise Cupcakes) and used an egg white for part of the water called for, then just added water without measuring exactly until I had the consistency I wanted for piping. This was creamy, fluffy, and pleasantly sweet and flavorful, with no greasy mouth feel. (I highly recommend Hi-Ratio Shortening for frostings like this) I've made some fine white or buttercream frostings from this site and this one truly stands out as one of the best. I ended up with some frosting leftover, but believe me it will NOT go to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I halved this recipe and it was so fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Really easy and I LOVE that this is dairy-free. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States