White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
worked great! I made it exactly as stated. I think that next time I will add a little more flavoring. I can still taste the shortening (I used the butter flavored shortening). Butter frosting is still the best but this is a great quickie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
DELICIOUS !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm a big fan of butter (you can tell by my backside) but was out and needed to frost 60 cupcakes ASAP. Made this and it's great! I mixed it up in my Kitchen Aid and once it was combined, I swapped the beater for the whip and WHIPPED IT REAL GOOD (sorry) and it's super light and fluffy! I added the vanilla called for and then just a skoonch of Almond extract to hide the Crisco flavor and give it that "what IS that??" thing. This is for 6 year olds so all they care about its sugar and food coloring. However, I really dug the taste, too. 4 stars because, to be fair, it would be better with butter, but still dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
alittle too salty. added in some milk and more vanilla extract to make it tastier. it was too bland without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This frosting is verry yummy! I made it with butter instead of shortning and it give it a more buttery taste.... The only problem I had was that it was too liqudy and not thick... but I just put it in the freezer for 30 min to an hour and it comes out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smhernandez18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcrb05
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This frosting was a huge hit! My mom told me that I could make my sister's graduation cake and I wanted it to look really nice. I bought piping tools, stuff to decorate the cake with, and a big cupcake pan. I never made frosting before and I was really excited to try it out. When we took the cake out and displayed it for everyone to see, people thought it was done by a professional! I was very glad to see not only did it turn out more than I would have thought but they enjoyed it as well! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrb05

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
very good! did add an extra tablespoon of water and milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Whenever the kids do something great at school, we celebrate by decorating cupcakes together, usually I am not as adventurous to make my own frosting other than for sugar cookies, but i was out and this recipe was a great quick fix! The only thing I changed was for flavoring. Because it is a rather bland frosting, i mixed in a box of cherry jello and it turned out AMAZING on our chocolate cupcakes! The kids called them Cherry covered choclates! Big big hit with the kids! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My husband loves this frosting, it reminds him of the kind his mom makes. It is super delicious. I had problems with it being a bit runny, but my frosting skills are lacking, so most likely my fault & not the recipe - I had to frost the cupcakes and then put them in the freezer to keep the frosting from falling off (that was the 1st batch.. the 2nd was better, probably my water was too warm). I used Earth Balance margarine, left out the salt and used regular vanilla - my frosting was a little more "earthy" colored, but absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very sweet but VERY good. I had to add a little milk to the final product because it was a bit grainy but I'm under the impression that I had more than a pound of sugar. Regardless, it was amazing and this is from now on my go to icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States