White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe before and really like it. I don't usually make just white frosting, so I made the following adjustments to the recipe: -substituted butter for shortening. -added 1 TBSP of food coloring for 1 of the 4 tablespoons of water. The frosting tastes great. You can also refrigerate it to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was ok. I even found an amazing, delicious way to make it better. 1st of all I know it doesn't sound like it would taste good, but I used this recipe plus I added sour cream and almond milk! It was soooooooooooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe! I made homemade caramel and added a few tablespoons to it and it turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
wish they had a eggnog frosting recipe on mabey someone will upcome with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made SEVEN batches of this today for my daughter's 2nd birthday 1/2 sheet cake, and a dozen cupcakes (nut-free decorations). Quick to prepare, great taste, and took color like a charm! I think this frosting might actually keep me away from pre-colored icing tubes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have made this frosting for years. I love it and never use any other recipes for frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I'd actually like to give this only 4 stars because it does NOT frost a 2 layer cake. After I frosted the bottom layer I had to make an additional bowl of frosting. However, this is very easy to make and is very airy and light. It frosts really nicely. Just be sure to double the recipe if you're wanting to frost a whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is the best recipe I have found. My son has tons of food allergies - so happy we found a frosting he can eat. He is 6 and today was the first time he has had frosting. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great frosting! I had a big bag of confectioners' sugar and thought 16 oz. meant 2 cups! Don't make this mistake. 16 oz. is actually about 4 cups! Still delicious though once I added the right amount! I think I'd prefer with butter instead of shortening but soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
not creamy, tastes like shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States