White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
AWSOM for decorating and the taste is really good, too. Gave one less star because it dries up really quick once it's on the cake. It's a keeper for me but some may not like the drying effect. Not sure what to do about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Just made this...used half butter and half shortening...making half a cup and added a whole teaspoon of vanilla extract. Came out really good. Will definitly use this recipe again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this to put on 24 Rainbow Cupcakes and had plenty left over. I used clear vanilla and butter flavored shortening. The icing came out off-white, so if you want pure white icing, use white shortening. The flavor was really good and the butter flavor was a welcome addition. I didn't think it was too sweet - granted each person will have a different perspective on what constitutes "too sweet". If it helps, I'm more of a carb-addict than a sugar-addict, so I would say my taste buds are more sugar sensitive than those of you who crave sweets. I needed to add more water because it was just too difficult to ice the cupcakes w/o destroying them with just the 4 T of water as the recipe called for. Easy enough though. All in all, I'd definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It was runny! Not even workable! Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe before and really like it. I don't usually make just white frosting, so I made the following adjustments to the recipe: -substituted butter for shortening. -added 1 TBSP of food coloring for 1 of the 4 tablespoons of water. The frosting tastes great. You can also refrigerate it to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was ok. I even found an amazing, delicious way to make it better. 1st of all I know it doesn't sound like it would taste good, but I used this recipe plus I added sour cream and almond milk! It was soooooooooooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe! I made homemade caramel and added a few tablespoons to it and it turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
wish they had a eggnog frosting recipe on mabey someone will upcome with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I made SEVEN batches of this today for my daughter's 2nd birthday 1/2 sheet cake, and a dozen cupcakes (nut-free decorations). Quick to prepare, great taste, and took color like a charm! I think this frosting might actually keep me away from pre-colored icing tubes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I have made this frosting for years. I love it and never use any other recipes for frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Watjen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States