White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
this frosting is very very tasty, but i think maybe i beat it too long or not long enough, becasue when i stopped beating it, it looked like it was seperating and looked very grainy, BUT..... tasted smooth and was oooh so good, does anyone know what i did wrong? did i stop beating too early or not beat too long??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanice2130

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Wonderful! I added an extra 1/2 tablespoon of water to make it a little easier to spread, but of all the frosting recipes I've tried, this is by far the best! My husband, who is (insanely) not a frosting guy even liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
AWSOM for decorating and the taste is really good, too. Gave one less star because it dries up really quick once it's on the cake. It's a keeper for me but some may not like the drying effect. Not sure what to do about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Just made this...used half butter and half shortening...making half a cup and added a whole teaspoon of vanilla extract. Came out really good. Will definitly use this recipe again. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Made this to put on 24 Rainbow Cupcakes and had plenty left over. I used clear vanilla and butter flavored shortening. The icing came out off-white, so if you want pure white icing, use white shortening. The flavor was really good and the butter flavor was a welcome addition. I didn't think it was too sweet - granted each person will have a different perspective on what constitutes "too sweet". If it helps, I'm more of a carb-addict than a sugar-addict, so I would say my taste buds are more sugar sensitive than those of you who crave sweets. I needed to add more water because it was just too difficult to ice the cupcakes w/o destroying them with just the 4 T of water as the recipe called for. Easy enough though. All in all, I'd definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It was runny! Not even workable! Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe before and really like it. I don't usually make just white frosting, so I made the following adjustments to the recipe: -substituted butter for shortening. -added 1 TBSP of food coloring for 1 of the 4 tablespoons of water. The frosting tastes great. You can also refrigerate it to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was ok. I even found an amazing, delicious way to make it better. 1st of all I know it doesn't sound like it would taste good, but I used this recipe plus I added sour cream and almond milk! It was soooooooooooooooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is a great and easy recipe! I made homemade caramel and added a few tablespoons to it and it turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
wish they had a eggnog frosting recipe on mabey someone will upcome with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States