White Cake Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
it was horrible. don't know what I might have done wrong. tasted like lard and became chuncky like cottage cheese when I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sibrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Whipped up light and fluffy. I used it for a cake filling. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
LOVED this frosting. I have a new frosting for sure. And my hubby liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Holy Moly !!!! Sooooo simple.....Sooooo good !! I added just a hint of cinnamon to frost a spice cake. Simple IS better ! THANK YOU !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I was looking for a vegan frosting recipe that didn't use margarine, as I had none on hand. This recipe is OK. I first made it exactly as the recipe called except I halved it and used Soy Milk instead of water. Like this, without any alterations, it tasted exactly like the shortening and had a very thick consistency. I added a lot more vanilla and a bit more soy milk. In the end it was an ok recipe that tasted pretty good with the vegan cupcakes. With my alterations, it would have recieved 4 stars. Without them, barely 2. Thanks for the recipe! xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
The BEST Cake Frosting recipe, EVER!!! THANKS FOR SHARING, LAURA B.!!! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anh N' Jamey Drury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great frosting! I wanted a bit of butter flavor, so I used about 3 Tbls. of butter, and the rest shortening. I added about 1/2 tsp of butter flavoring as well. This was a perfect amount of frosting to frost a dozen of cupcakes, with about 1 cup left over (which I plan to use when I make my Valentine's cookies in a few days). I will use this one again, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the first time I made frosting successfully. It came out wonderful but I did not have any shortening so I used lard and butter. Also we liked the thick consistency so we did not add all the water. My husband said it tasted too much like sugar (which I liked) so he threw in some lemon juice and lemon extract. No matter what it still tasted and looked fabulous. I will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruthy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, it is so delicious, I did not have butter on hand and most white frosting's I found called for that. I did have butter flavored shortening and regular vanilla extract other's called for clear vanilla extract, I did not have that. I made only slight adjustments, I only needed enough for the inside of a chocolate cake, so I halved the recipe, also I used cold milk instead of warm water and I scraped 1 Madagascar vanilla bean for an extra punch of vanilla flavor, I found myself licking everything I could it was so good! Recipe was also so quik and easy. This recipe is a keeper, I can't wait to try it with other recipes. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe Laura B. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NikkysNiche
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Used 3:1 shortening/butter (3 tbsp. shortening, 1 tbsp. butter). Used milk instead of water. Mixed shortening with butter first, then gradually added sugar and milk. Perfection! Delicious and piped easily! I think if you were spreading it, you would need more liquid, but for piping it was perfect!! (Probably added more vanilla... more like 2 tsps!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States