White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
For those having trouble with the frosting separating: I was told that since Crisco is now trans-fat free it does not mix well with water. If you are using Crisco you will have to substitute the water with milk. If you can find a store-brand shortening that has trans fat (not healthy, I know :-) then you can use that shortening with water and it should work fine for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I didn't have powdered butter flavoring, but I will probably never use that anyway. Instead of 3/4 c shortening, I used 1/2 c shortening and 1/4 butter. I was afraid that the yellow color of the butter would ruin the whiteness of the frosting, but once it was all whipped up it was still perfectly white, and the taste was delicious! We've made it three times in only 2 weeks! Also, very easy to color. We made a red and yellow frosted cake for Disney/Pixar's Cars theme for my son's birthday. Good and firm and perfect for decorating, we used it again to top off cupcakes in ice cream cones (to make look like ice cream) and the frosting held tight, never dripping. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used butter flavored crisco as some had said. My husband liked the cake and icing but I did not. He says it is just me but it didn't taste sweet enought and it tasted a lot like shortening. I am sure that the problem was with me as the cook or the taster. I have a tendency to be quite critical of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is almost exactly my mother-in-law's recipe from the bakery. I finally found a recipe that includes the butter flavor, and not butter! The butter flavor (and clear vanilla) keeps the icing pure white. This is perfect, and I'm so glad to have found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I think that it was a good recipe but I would make a few changes. I think that you should use powdered sugar instead of reagular baking sugar like it says. And I suggest using heavy cream or half and half to make it thicker, but other than that I would make this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Really good! Whips up very light. I cut the butter. Instead of water, next time I will use milk to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gymlovr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This frosting is AWESOME! I just used it to decorate a beautiful birthday cake. It had a great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
EASY! I was looking for something easy but yet good to make with a few 4 year olds and this was it. they loved it and so did everyone else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Anytime I see 1 star when others rate the recipe highly, I figure that person must have done something wrong, and I admit, I probably did. This frosting never mixed properly. The fats were always separate from the rest. After I added food coloring it was most apparent because the fat would not accept the color. Perhaps I should have creamed the shortening/butter with the sugar and then added the other ingredients, but it didn't say to do that, so I didn't. I don't think I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This is a really good frosting and perfect for coloring and decorating. I used 1/2 tsp of almond extract and 1/2 tsp of vanilla for a different flavor. I also subbed milk for the water. I frosted Grandpops Chocolate cake from this site with it for my daughter's birthday cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States