White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Best frosting EVER!!!!! I used 1/2 cup shortning and 1/4 cup butter, omitted powder butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This frosting is incredibly easy to make, colors well, pipes easily, and tastes great! I used Wilton liquid butter flavor instead of powder. I will be making this again (and again, and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
With the exception of the powdered butter flavoring, which I didn't use, this is a fairly standard, basic and reliable buttercream frosting. Use all shortening, all butter or a mixture of both, depending on your preference. I didn't need a perfectly white frosting so I used half butter, half shortening, regular vanilla, and enough water for piping consistency. This falls short of 5-stars in that it should be beaten till very light and fluffy, a good several minutes, not just "until well mixed." It WILL make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Just used this frosting to make Pinkalicious cupcakes- perfect! It was very easy to use with a large decorator tip to make cupcakes. I took the great advice and used 1/2 cup shortening, 1/4 butter (instead of butter flavoring.) Used regular vanilla since I wasn't keeping them white. I'll be sure to make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIETTEMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I omitted the powder butter flavoring because I did not have any. This frosting WAS PERFECT! Fluffy, easy to spread and delicious (had a vanilla flavor to it). Add some food coloring to be festive. I will be making this again! PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really wonderful, I made a chocolate version. !/2 c. crisco, 1/4 c. unsalted butter I used my kitchen aid mixer and beat this on med speed for 20 mins, it makes all the difference. I sifted together 4 1/4 c. powder sugar, 1/4 c. dutch cocoa 1/8 tsp salt. I added this alternately 2 TBS whipping cream, 4 tsp strong brewed coffee, 1 tsp vanilla. Beat this till everything is nice and fluffy (adjust the liquid to your desired consistency) Wow this made enough to frost a two layer cake split into 4 layers just barely, I really wanted another cup. super yummy and sooooo easy. Rave results from your guests and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Best frosting...I just added milk instead of water!! Will used this recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jinglebottom
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Great frosting thank you. Instead of using 3/4 cup of shortening i used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/4 cup of butter instead of butter flavoring. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinglebottom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I also used 1/2 cup crisco and 1/4 cup salted butter. I used 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract just for my taste preference. I will not buy store frosting again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is the best home made frosting I have tasted. I have tried other recipes, but just not the same, perhaps the secret is using the electric mixer for a long time. The only thing I did different was use 1/4 c butter and 1/2 cup shortening (and omitted the powdered butter flavoring). I used the electric mixer for 5 mins to get the right consistency. Taste great on a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States