White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great and easy recipe. I don't like white frosting but this is the exception. I substituted butter for shortening and it was superb! Can add cocoa or peppermint to make differing frosting varieties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was just way too greasy tasting. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe, tasted, and then started the necessary tweaking. I would start off with only 1/2 cup (or less) shortening and just adding more water when needed. By the time I got the flavor and texture right, I ended up with tons of frosting. Do yourself a favor and just start off with much less shortening and taste as you go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was great-tasting, with the changes previous reviewers made. I used 1/2 c. shortening with 1/4 c. butter and omitted the powdered butter flavoring. Next time I make it, I'll add in some more water or milk to thin it out a little as it was a little too thick to spread on my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This isn't the tastiest icing ever, but it will fulfill your white cake frosting needs. I used a stick of butter (1/2 cup) and 1/4 shortening because I didn't have enough shortening on hand. I had a lot left over after Frosting the Frog Cupcakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I can't give this exact recipe the ratings, but after leaving out the butter powder and substituting it with the real stuff, this buttercream was pretty good. The texture was light and fluffy and STAYED fluffy, not turning stiff when exposed to the air for a while like buttercream without the crisco added. But in my opinion, there's too much shortening in this recipe. The icing had a greasy quality. I made it again using 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco and it was perfect. You can see how it looked in the photos...(the cake with the Island theme)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Photo by dennis372006
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I have to admit as a chef in the industry as a pastry chef and cake decorator I was very impressed with this recipe. Taste very good. I also used butter flavored Crisco and added an extra Tbsp of water to thin out a little more and it spread so easily. Froze cake for half an hour and enrobed it in fondant and decorated it was awesome. Tasted very good. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis372006

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Christopher, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Didn't have powdered butter flavoring and used butter shortening instead and it turned out fantastic! I frosted the Heavenly White Cake from this site and it was delicious. I did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla since I like a bit more flavor in addition to the sweetness and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSWILLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Just what I needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Back2Basicsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious! Like so many others, I did not have the powered butter so I followed suggestion to use 1/4 cup of unsalted butter at room temp and only 2/4 cups of shortening. Came out perfect. This recipe is a total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Best frosting EVER!!!!! I used 1/2 cup shortning and 1/4 cup butter, omitted powder butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States