White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Definitely use the butter powder or do as other reviewers have said and use some butter in place of some shortening. I didn't have either on hand after making the cake so just omitted it. Just tasted like sweet shortening. Seemed a little greasy to me as well which wouldn't change with the butter powder. Easy though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Meada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Excellent frosting and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Delicious and so easy to make. I didn't use any butter flavoring and it still turned out fantastic! Highly recommend trying this one. Also, if you don't have any powdered/confectioners sugar, you can use a blender to grind up regular granulated sugar and turn it into powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Compliments my devil food cake very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Excellent for speading and decorating, very smooth. Tastes fatty, not like a good buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Great recipe! Thank you very much. Super easy to make and tastes great! I had to double the recipe for a sheet cake I was making, and did not have powdered butter, so I used 1/4 of a stick of room temperature butter as a substitue and it came out fabulous! Not too light...not too sweet, and still very white. It tastes great and will use this recipe all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This icing tasted really way too sweet. I prefer a lighter tasting frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
*I put too much water, food coloring seperated into goo-like substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did as others suggested and used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/4 cup unsalted butter as I did not have any powdered butter. I did not use the full amount of powdered sugar as it turned pretty thick. I had to add a little milk just so I could smooth it onto the cake to make it look good. This was good but not so awesome that I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I didn't have butter flavoring so I used 1/2 cup shortening 1/4 cup butter. I also used the dark imitation vanilla, but the recipe turned out great. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States