White Cake Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I'm not a huge frosting fan but I'll eat this frosting all day long. I couldn't believe how good this tasted...much better than the stuff that comes in the can. Everybody commented on how good this was. This was a good consistency for decorating too. I used this for my 3 year olds birthday cake and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is an amazing and simply easy recipe! I have never made homemade frosting before trying this recipe. I did not have the butter flavor, so I added a tblsp of butter instead. I also added a 1/4 cup of milk to make this a little lighter and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Excellent icing, light and fluffy, just like you get in the store bakeries. I used butter flavor extract and regular (not clear) vanilla. I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This frosting was a huge hit! I substituted the shortening with 1 stick of butter and 1/4 c. butter flavored shortening (which kept it from being a pure white color). This was easy to make, easy to spread, was not overpowering in any way. It was not too sweet and it complimented the cake and did not overpower it. I frosted the Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake which made a fantastic combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Very quick and Easy - tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was sooo good! This was my first time making home made frosting and I will never use the store bought kind again. I did change a few tiny things per suggestions of others. I substituted 1/4 cup of the shortening for 1/4 cup butter. I also used almond extract instead of the vanilla. It did yield a lot of frosting and I only used about half of the amount to put on top of a bundt cake. I wanted to just glaze the cake with the frosting, so I took half of the frosting and put in the microwave for about 25 seconds. Once it came out I gave it a quick stir with a fork and then poured it over the top of the cake. It came out beautifully and tasted as good as it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Salecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I tried this recipe about 3 years ago and it quickly became my favorite white frosting. I've made it well over a dozen times. The only changes I make are substituting butter for half of the shortening amount and I use real vanilla extract (I never use imitation). I absolutely love this frosting (it's incredible with coconut on it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
White frosting on Em's wed cake. Smooth, easy to work with and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammie cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is very sweet. I followed others suggestions and used 1/4 butter and 1/2 shortening and creamed on low for about 5 minutes. To give a little more flavor added almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
It was fluffy and easy to spread. I used butter-flavored shortening, which made it an ivory color instead of pure white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States