White Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
I have been making bread for 27 years. This is the best I have ever made. It's texture is perfect and flavor is as well. I am so happy to have found this. I thought home made bread was doomed to be heavy and nothing like you could buy. I reccomend it highly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This bread had a uniqueness that sets it apart from most breads made in "machines". The texture was firmer, and less spongelike than what usually comes out of bread machines---by the way, these qualites to me are WONDERFUL. I will make this bread often. Thank you for posting this recipe. Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This turned out very well. I cut the sugar down to 1 T., the salt to 1-1/2 tsp. and used olive oil rather than vegetable oil. I used the bread machine from start to finish. Unfortunately my bread machine doesn't do well browning the top of the loaf so after removing it from the bread maker I brushed the top with butter and put it in a 375 degree oven for about 10 minutes. This is a soft, moist, basic white bread with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is the best white bread recipe I've tried in my bread machines. I am using a basic, cheap Breadman Ultimate machine and this bread turned out beautifully. It has great aroma, texture and flavor. It's wonderful with butter or in a sandwich.The crust is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and the dough ball was way too moist. I wonder if the 1 3/8 cup water was supposed to be 1 1/8 ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gretna, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Liked this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Totally awesome!! My whole family of picky eaters LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great recipe. I'm in bread 101 and my first loaf was an absolut hit....what an incredible taste not masked by the store bought pereravatives....thanks to u all....lets do it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dean611a

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Northbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Whitinsville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
excellent! I tried this recipe and it worked like a charm - I've used bread machines for years - and this recipe didn't disappoint! I have a diabetic in my home so I used a high quality sugar substitute and the recipe worked beautifully - firm loaf, tasty and light...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amity, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is the best homemade bread I have made to date. I prepared the dough in the bread machine and then let the dough rise in a greased bowl for 40 minutes and then again for 1 hour in the greased loaf pan before baking at 350 for 1 hour. It is now two days after I baked it and it is still fresh! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States