White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
THIS IS THE ONE I've been looking for. Finally, a tender white bread. I followed Michigan Mommy's suggestion and put it in a 9x5 bread pan - let it rise about 45 minutes. Baked @ 350 for about 30 min. Top was brown and sounded hollow when thumped. It was beautiful. Tasted wonderful. This will be my basic bread from now on. I'll let the bread machine do the work, and use the oven for baking it. Thanks. Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
AMAZING! i love it soo so so much! i have a new white bread recipe! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used the "dough" setting and baked in the oven. I also used bread flour. It did fall slightly but it is light and fluffy and holds up well. Good for sandwiches and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I'm giving this recipe four stars. It tastes wonderful, but the top fell. I don't know what happened. It seemed to be rising perfectly in my bread machine, then towards the end of the baking cycle it just fell. I may try doing as other posters suggesed, mixing it on the dough cycle, then letting it rise again and baking it in the oven. Thanks for the basic recipe! I will try this again. My house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My husband wouldn't even eat this and he loves fresh baked bread! It was lacking flavor and it was rather hard and dried out very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yup, it made a pretty good bread. Mine was a little more on the dense side, but was still tasty :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubledee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I've tried a few but this is the best white bread recipe I have found. I scaled it up to 470g of flour (extra strong white), basic bake, large size and it produces a really tasty, high rising loaf. Doesn't last long though - it gets eaten too quickly! Works well on both normal and fast bake although fast produces a slightly less risen loaf. Machine is Panasonic SD255. Knocks spots off of the white recipe in the Panasonic book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This recipe is definitely the best white bread recipe I've found. The bread is very moist and is somewhat sweet. It's great by itself, with butter, or dipped in olive oil and spices. It's somewhat thick, so it makes a great french toast. The first few times I made it, I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! Lately, I've been experimenting with some of my bread recipes and the last time I made this bread, I substituted honey for the sugar. The bread turned out even more moist than before and had a slightly sweeter taste. It also kept a little longer than the other loaves I've made. If you're having problems with the loaf drying out too fast, try reducing the salt by half and substituting honey for the sugar. I haven't tried making a cinnamon bread out of this recipe yet, but I think I will try it tonight so we can have cinnamon french toast for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I downloaded this recipe in 2002 and its still by far the best I've tasted. Look no further..... Brian in England
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States