White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Best white bread recipe I found. Love that it has reg. milk not powder. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I am new to bread machine baking and was having a horrible time finding a recipe that didn't end up coming out like a brick. This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Beautiful soft, tender white bread that wasn't lacking in flavor or texture. I baked mine on the "light" crust setting, and was pleased with a soft, golden brown crust. I'm readying to bake my third loaf in as many days. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
THIS IS THE ONE I've been looking for. Finally, a tender white bread. I followed Michigan Mommy's suggestion and put it in a 9x5 bread pan - let it rise about 45 minutes. Baked @ 350 for about 30 min. Top was brown and sounded hollow when thumped. It was beautiful. Tasted wonderful. This will be my basic bread from now on. I'll let the bread machine do the work, and use the oven for baking it. Thanks. Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
AMAZING! i love it soo so so much! i have a new white bread recipe! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Cork, County Cork, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I used the "dough" setting and baked in the oven. I also used bread flour. It did fall slightly but it is light and fluffy and holds up well. Good for sandwiches and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beulah, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I'm giving this recipe four stars. It tastes wonderful, but the top fell. I don't know what happened. It seemed to be rising perfectly in my bread machine, then towards the end of the baking cycle it just fell. I may try doing as other posters suggesed, mixing it on the dough cycle, then letting it rise again and baking it in the oven. Thanks for the basic recipe! I will try this again. My house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My husband wouldn't even eat this and he loves fresh baked bread! It was lacking flavor and it was rather hard and dried out very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yup, it made a pretty good bread. Mine was a little more on the dense side, but was still tasty :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I've tried a few but this is the best white bread recipe I have found. I scaled it up to 470g of flour (extra strong white), basic bake, large size and it produces a really tasty, high rising loaf. Doesn't last long though - it gets eaten too quickly! Works well on both normal and fast bake although fast produces a slightly less risen loaf. Machine is Panasonic SD255. Knocks spots off of the white recipe in the Panasonic book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States