White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was alright. I didn't rise well but it had good flavor. The family ate a whole loaf for sandwiches at lunch but it doesn't slice into sandwich bread well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I just got a used bread machine with no book, so I needed to find a recipe to use with it. This is the first one I tried and it is great! I've made it 3 times now and it has turned out delicious every time!I used the med. crust for this bread. We thought the crust was crispy and the inside was soft. Perfect. I'm glad I won't need to keep looking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This is an absolutely fabulous recipe. It is great if you have a bread maker because all of the ingredients are things you have on hand anyway, except for the yeast. Doesn't require bread flour. I made for company last night and they took home the leftovers. So have another loaf in the bread machine right now. No changes, great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a recipe that I can actually make!! I have never had luck baking bread but this turned out wonderful. I did add 1 Tbsp of fresh cracked black pepper-- AWESOME!! I have never had luck finding a recipe that works with pepper...this one does. Also makes great grilled sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
This recipe came out only so-so. The texture was more crumbly when finished than a typical white bread. It also did not rise as much as I had thought it would. I proofed the yeast (no bread machine here, so I took it through two risings and kneaded 10 minutes, then baked for half an hour at 350). It did brown nicely and the flavor was good, but I would not make this again. It may well be better suited to a bread machine than the "old fashioned" way of making bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jane Meister
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I have tried many different recipes for white bread and about six months ago gave up on making my own homemade, since I couldn't find a good recipe! After reading all the reviews on this one, I tried and let me tell you this is the BEST recipe I've ever used. The texture, crumb, taste and all over appearance was perfect and this is by far one of the easiest bread recipes I've used. I made it the old fashioned way by hand, letting the yeast sit in the warm milk/sugar for a few minutes and then adding the rest of the ingredients. Kneaded for about ten minutes, let it rise twice and baked it at 350 for a half hour. I made this last night and between me and my husband and our two baby boys this is GONE already! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jane Meister

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I made this the old fashioned way - by hand as my bread machine is on the blink. It was lovely. I left it to rise over night with a damp cloth over the top to stop it drying out and then baked on 175C for 1 hour on the bottom shelf of the oven. I then left it to cool with another damp cloth over the top to soften the crust. It was lovely, so tasty I could have eaten the whole loaf!! Great with home made butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Oh my gosh it was fantastic! The outside is crispy not hard! So great i will be making another one while I sleep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
we loved this bread much.as the other rewiews say its so soft inside.i used also different sort of flours and each time it turns out great.the lastest time i added some chopped walnuts.it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I made this bread the first time for a get together a few months ago, and now I am making it again for a potluck. I like this recipe because I do not need to change anything, I can use things I have around the house (such as skim milk), and it always comes out perfectly. Thank you for providing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States