White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really good white bread. I added 1/3 cup sugar and used Rapid Rise yeast instead of Active Dry, which cut the time in half. When using rapid rise I first mixed all the dry ingredients (including yeast) then warmed the milk to about 120F, mixed it all together, kneaded, let sit for 10 minutes (replacing the first rise), then did NOT punch it down (skip punching down when using rapid rise) then let it rise in my slightly warmed toaster oven for about an hour and then baked for the recommended time and it was amazing! My boyfriend pretty much down the whole loaf with just butter. It was cool, except that now I have to make more bread but from now on I will definitely use rapid rise because it is so much faster. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
My new favorite bread recipe! I made it the old fashioned way, took about 40 minutes in my oven.. but I love the crust. I love a soft crust, and this is the first bread recipe I have found that really has a crust the way I like it. Will make this one every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Holy smokes, this bread turned out amazingly. I also mixed it by hand and baked in the oven. I mixed yeast, sugar, and mild and let stand for about 10 minutes. It was just getting a bit frothy. Then, I added the flour salt and butter (which I softened in the microwave). I covered the bowl with a damp towel and let it rise, punched it down and let it rise again. I would've liked to have let it rise a bit longer the second time, but I was in a bit of a time crunch to get it done. It baked for 35 minutes at 350 degrees, the top got nice and golden, and could've stayed in another 5 minutes or so. It cooled in the pan and when I turned it out, it was gorgeous. It was light and dense at the same time. I can't wait to make this again. I made it last night and have almost just the heel left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I love this recipe. This was my vigirn voyage in the art of bread making and everything turned out fantastic. So easy with a great return! Sarah J Meister's directions are perfect if you go with the "good old fashion way"....thanks Sarah. Lisa, your a doll! Thanks for a great, simple recipe that totally ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe, even when I manage to make a mistake and put things in the bread machine in the wrong order! I did that once because I lost the manual for my ancient bread machine but with looking on the net, I found out how to do it. I am getting a new Zojirushi BBCC-X20 Bread Machine soon (on order) and I am VERY anxious to try it with the new one! Everyone loved the bread, including my extraordinarily "picky" DH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was delicious and very soft! I made the dough in my Kitchen Aid Mixer with the dough hook. Add the warm milk, sugar and yeast and let sit for about 10 minutes. Then add the rest of the ingredients and mix for about 5 minutes. I needed to add more flour...not sure how much...but quite a bit until it kneaded in my mixer easily. Then I covered it and let it rise for 25 minutes, punched it down and put it in a sprayed bread pan. Covered it again for 10 minutes then took off the cover and turned on the oven. It rose for about 15 more minutes while the oven heated up. I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
very good basic and easy to follow recipe. makes a great bread that works wonderfully as toast the next day (if there is anything left!) wouldnt hesitate to give this recipe to somebody who has never made bread before, its that easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made this recipe yesterday changing only one thing; I set my breadmaker on the Dough cycle and baked it in the oven (after letting it rise a second time in the loaf pan) at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. It is wonderful, I'll make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrauLava
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe!!! I tried twice in the breadmaker but the bread fell in. So yesterday I made it in the oven as Michigan Mummy wrote. It looks perfect and tastes awsome! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLava

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I have been making this recipe instead of buying bread. It is great for sandwhiches and toast. Give it a try, you wont be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States