White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have made this bread half a dozen times now -- it's quick and easy and comes out reliably wonderful every single time. Great quick and easy recipe, thank you Lisa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was a simple great recipe. I made it exactly as it was written and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I've made this for the first time this morning. The tast is excellent, my daughter walked in and asked for a slice as she was starving (a thick slice) even she thought it was gorgeous. Same problem though, I live in Johannesburg, 6000 ft above sea level and even with some adjustments still very dense. Will mke it again later in the week though as it's worth it for the flavour. Many thanks for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This bread tastes really good. It is more dense than I thought it was going to be. I needed to add more flour (about 1/2 cup). Maybe next time I'll use less milk as some of the custom versions suggest. I might also try sifting the flour to make it lighter. It didn't rise as much as the photo suggests. It makes a pretty small sandwich. But it is delicious. I made it the old fashioned way since I don't have a bread machine. I'll definitely try this one again. It's super easy as far as bread goes and I don't have to buy bread flour. :) update: I can never get this to look right without a bread machine. it always goes flat no matter what I do. It does taste good, but I want a fluffier bread that I can use for sandwiches. This is heavy and doesn't get "sandwich" shaped. I'm going to try to find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
i too used KitchenAid mixer. came out wonderful, mixed milk, yeast, and sugar.. let set, added rest of the items. rest 25-30, punched down, shaped in greased loaf pan, let rest 10 more, then turned on oven and let rise also in oven for about 10-15, then baked for 20-25 min. great bread, mother- n-law gets a piece every couple of hrs.. making more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This came out pretty good! I used the fast setting on my machine by mistake (did not use rapid rise yeast) so the rise was lower (more like 1.5 lbs) and I added an additional dusting of flour on the dough ball to make it less sticky, during kneeding. Then added italian seasoning and garlic powder for an Italian version. The taste is great (medium yeast taste) and the density is medium with a light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I tried it second time.The only suggestion I have people out there who are looking for good recipes is to read all the options given by wonderful people in their reviews and then follow the recipe as you feel right...Other than that this is perfect recipe just i changed all-purpose flour with bread flour..and I chose bread setting in bread machine to knead it and raised it outside the machine and baked it in the oven. I have tried baking breads in bread machine as well but everytime they came out too dense for us.somehow while searching for answers i came across this site and its reviews options It worked perfect for me...enjoy baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I skipped the bread machine like a few of the other reviewers came out great, used a little more flour but otherwise all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Wonderful texture and flavour. It resembles a French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and then kneaded the dough a few times, rolled it out to a rectangle, rolled it up, placed it in a 9x5 greased pan, let it rise about 45 minutes, then baked for 35 min at 180C in a mini oven. The bread came out evenly light brown. I used half of it the next day for French Toast - and it was excellent! It was easy to slice and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States