White Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was amazing. It was light and fluffy. Beautiful crust. Took butter without getting mushy. Just because I couldn't find it anywhere else, I cooked it as a 1.5 lb loaf on a med white setting. This is getting cooked again right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
This was wonderful. I used half coconut oil and half grapeseed oil for the butter, just to have something moderately more healthful, and it was still fabulous. I might try substituting olive oil or flaxseed oil for the grapeseed oil next, just for more flavour and variety. I like this a lot better than the other popular white bread recipe on this site. I didn't have a bread machine so I kneaded it by hand for about 6 minutes and left it to rise probably an hour, punched it down and left to rise again for maybe half an hour in the bread pan. I baked it around 350-375 (my oven runs slightly hot) for about 30 minutes. The crust isn't SO crisp that it will be impossibly chewy, and the center is fluffy and has the finest crumb. I baked this loaf with the intention to use it as sandwich bread for the week, and I think it will be great for that. Very soft without a hint of that doughy flavour. I might try to make burger buns out of this recipe next. I also think this bread would become fantastic french toast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is the perfect recipe!! I have tried many others and this one won the golden ticket for sure. It has a wonderful texture like store bought bread, my family loves it. I mix it in my bread machine, take it out let it rise, punch it down and let it re-rise in the loaf pan. I bake it on 355 for 35 minutes (gas stove) and it is perfect every time! Anyone who gives this recipe less then a five star is doing something wrong. Lisa you are the bomb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
i found the sodium level way to high for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a nice basic recipe. From this you can change it to add whole wheat flour, oats, flax meal, chia seeds, cut fruit, cinnamon - pretty much anything you want. Keep in mind the bread gets a lot heavier / more dense when you add things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I've tried several white bread recipes and this one is a winner! ! It's the only bread that comes out fluffy idk if it's the milk or the 2 tsp of yeast but this bread is Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Best bread ever!, I followed the recipe from A to Z, it was moist and soft, my family loved it, thanks for posting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Oh man this is the bomb! I used sour milk ..soured from raw milk, didn't have very much butter so I omitted the butter..and I used a TBSP of Sugar and a TBSP of honey. This is the best white bread I've ever made and I've made a lot! I also covered it in olive oil while raising and then when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bea
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The best white bread recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved it !, I was after a soft white sandwich bread for years, I made mine with Evaporated milk/Water mix as I was out of milk, turned out just fine, Soft dense little spongy air pockets, light crust. I used my machine for the dough set the dough in a pan in a warm oven with a tray of hot water alongside for the rise, baked mine @ 325 for 20-25 min in a dark pan, ate 3 slices as soon as it cooled a bit. A 5 star White Bread !, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States