White Beans and Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I liked the recipe, as I love anything with tuna and this seemed diffent, left out capers, don't like them, I then used on crackers and also made wraps out of this mixture, makes for a lite lunch or snack, thanks for sharing, its worth making!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Not bad, far too much mayo, mustard, and relish. I cut my amount in half and wished that I cut it more. The salad was good on a pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Although this tasted good, it doesn't have good eye appeal. I subbed jarred roasted red pepper and dried cilantro. I didn't add capers (didn't have). Added salt and pepper to taste. Served wrapped in a tortilla with baby lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
LOVE this recipe. I wrap it up with lettuce in a large sandwhich wrap (burrito style) and have it for lunch every day. It actually tastes better as the beans and tuna marinate in the dressing ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I can't honestly rate this recipe because I didn't follow it exactly. I didn't have all the ingredients. But what I did have was still delicious. I combined 1/2 cup light mayo, 2 T whole grain dijon, 1 T regular dijon in bowl. Added 2 cans drained tuna, 1/2 cup sweet white onion, 1/4 red and yellow bell peppers and about 1/3 cup chopped cilantro. Mixed it all in bowl...didn't use processor. Can be served as a wrap, on lettuce, in a sandwich, as a melt...however you like. It was a delicious, healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
We didn't have the relish or the capers, but this was already way too strong with the dijon. My husband said he had to gag down his lunch. Would be much better with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love the taste of this, and I'm just now realizing I missed the onion (would've used powder if I've noticed) and garlic powder. I'm a little leary of the amounts of mustard and mayo, though. That seems like an extreme amount, so I just eyeballed what I thought would work--probably about a heaping tablespoon of both. I didn't have relish so just used bread and butter pickles. This doesn't really turn out that visually appealing as Godiva Girl noted. I processed everything, including the beans, in the hopes that would help. I don't think I succeeded, though, perhaps because I couldn't get it completely smooth. All things considered, though, it's worth trying even if it looks a bit scary. :o) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper to bring out the flavors and used dried blackeye beans to lower the sodium. Fresh and tasty treat! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
this was a pretty good salad. i did not blend this in the food processor. i left it with the normal tuna salad texture and used it as a superbowl party dip with crackers, french bread and (for the gluten-free guy), romaine lettuce leaves for wraps. since i didn't have Dijon, I used a spicy brown mustard instead. this salad calls for too much mayo/mustard for my liking. i cut both down to 1/3 cup and added the whole can of beans and extra diced vegetables (a whole orange pepper instead of 1/2, 2 stalks of celery, jalapeno stuffed green olives.) even with the extra stuff , it was more 'goopy' than it needed to be. next time i will try 1/4 cup each of mayo and mustard. although i would have loved to add the fresh cilantro and parsley, i didn't have them on hand. i imagine the fresh herbs would add a nice flavor. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by She She LaRue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this for lunch but did not have capers nor cilantro on hand. I did not blend any thing either. I put about a cup of the mixture on a bed of greens and it was really tasty (no need for dressing). My husband loves to take this for lunch at work. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States